As seen on
Fill out a 30 second, confidential questionnaire. We’ll send it to one of our available medical marijuana doctors for review.
Our state-certified medical practitioners are standing by to help answer your questions and evaluate your cannabis needs.
Your physician will enter your electronic certification within 24 to 48 hours of approval. You'll then receive an email with instructions for how to complete your registration with the state via the OMC's application portal.
Getting your recommendation with NuggMD is fast and easy, but the state can take 30 to 60 days to approve your application. Your West Virginia certification and med card are valid for one year.
"Could not have been an easier process! From online doctor interview to receiving temporary ID card by email, it was so straightforward and quick. So happy I found NuggMD!"
"The evaluation was easy to fill out and I was contacted by a doctor within minutes. It made what could have been a complicated process straightforward, highly recommend!"
"NuggMD walked me through the process and held my hand (figuratively) the whole way. Registering was quick and easy ... and unbelievably fast. I definitely recommend their services."
"I really appreciate the fast and easy navigation of the website. I was kept informed thru the whole process. It is reassuring to know I can have a stress-free experience with NuggMD"
Most Common Conditions
Some patients choose to have – or are required to have – a designated caregiver who can purchase cannabis on their behalf. They’re also allowed to transport it and prepare it for patient use.
In West Virginia, a caregiver must be designated by the patient or their legal guardian using the West Virginia Caregiver Designation Form, pay the state’s application fee, and submit a criminal history background check. The application will be denied if the designated caregiver has a history of drug abuse, felony possession, sale of controlled substances or drug-related conspiracy.
To qualify as your caregiver, they must:
The caregiver application fee is $50. The fee may be waived if the caregiver can demonstrate financial hardship.
Follow the instructions once you start the NuggMD process to fill out your application. Make sure you enter all of your information accurately to avoid possible delays in your processing. Your NuggMD medical marijuana doctor will provide PDF certification within 24-48 hours of your approval.
Once you receive notification that your recommendation has been entered in the state’s system, you’ll need to finish your state registration via the OMC’s online portal. You’ll need to enter all of the requested information and pay the state registration fee of $50.
Renewing your medical marijuana card in WV is an annual requirement. Thankfully, the process is just as straightforward as your initial registration. And NuggMD makes renewing your WV med card even easier!
Remember to start your renewal at least 30 days before your card expiration date to avoid gaps in coverage. Keep in mind that your renewal certification must be dated within 30 days of your renewal application.
And whether you got your initial recommendation with NuggMD or another practitioner or service in the state, our medical marijuana doctors are standing by.
|Same day physician access|
|No appointment needed|
|Pay only if approved|
|50+ in network docs|
|7 Day Live Support|
We are a team of cannabis and technology professionals focused on connecting you with state-licensed doctors. We believe all people deserve access to medical cannabis if they think it might improve their quality of life. Since our founding in 2015, we’ve held ourselves and our partners to the highest standards to ensure every patient we serve is able to access reliable cannabis information, trustworthy medical practitioners, and proactive updates on the cannabis healthcare ecosystem and legislation that may affect their experience as a medical cannabis patient.
Whether you’re a cannabis connoisseur or thinking of becoming a first-time medical marijuana patient, our network of doctors will listen to your needs and give you an honest opinion about whether they think cannabis can help.
Qualifying West Virginia residents must be at least 18 years of age and receive a physician’s certification for one of the state’s qualifying conditions. Qualifying patients must also provide proof of residency.
If you would like to add a medical condition, click here to fill out the Application To Request That An Additional Medical Condition Qualify For Medical Cannabis Usage In West Virginia.
Having a medical marijuana card is the only legal way to purchase cannabis in West Virginia. Even after adult-use sales begin in the state, having a med card tends to carry a range of additional benefits, such as lower taxes, higher purchase limits, and greater legal protections.
It only costs $99 to get a West Virginia MMJ evaluation with NuggMD (compared to $200 or more at many locations). And there’s no risk because patients aren’t billed unless they’re approved by the doctor! After their evaluation, MMJ patients are also responsible for West Virginia’s $50 state registration fee.
Unfortunately, no. Since cannabis is still considered a Schedule 1 drug at the federal level, health insurance companies in the state are not required to cover the cost of a med card or medical cannabis products.
Your NuggMD medical marijuana doctor will provide PDF certification within 24-48 hours of your approval. But it can take the state 30 to 60 days to approve your application. That’s why it’s important to start the process as soon as you’re ready.
With NuggMD, you are ONLY charged for your evaluation if you are approved by the doctor. We believe the cost of an evaluation should never be a barrier to getting the care you need.
We provide a full refund within 30 days if you have not received your digital certification via email. Please send an email to email@example.com with the subject line “Refund Request” and a brief description of your issue. You, the customer, are the most important thing to us at NuggMD, and we want to make sure you’re 100% satisfied with your purchase. Once a refund has been initiated, please allow 3-5 business days for the funds to transfer back to the card you used for the transaction. If any issues arise, please feel free to reach back out for further assistance.
You sure can! You can see any doctor you choose for your renewal evaluation. When you transfer to a NuggMD practitioner, be sure to bring your medical records so they can provide a complete evaluation and best answer your questions.
That depends on the state to which you’re traveling. Each state has different rules for medical marijuana program reciprocity. Some only allow patients from certain states while others only allow patients with certain conditions. Check with your destination state’s medical marijuana program to learn more.
You don’t necessarily have to provide a West Virginia ID, but you will need a government-issued ID and proof of WV residency. Here’s a list of approved proof of residency documents.