First, you must book an appointment with a state-licensed marijuana doctor.
They would then conduct a medical evaluation to confirm you are suffering from one of the Department of Consumer Protection's debilitating conditions. Once you've been certified, your physician will then initialize your MMJ application. If your doctor approves you for an MMJ registration, you will then need to provide the following information:
a. Your current e-mail address: This must be a valid email address that will serve as your primary point of contact with the Department regarding your MMJ certification.
b. Your telephone number: Like your email, this should be a phone number that the Department can use to contact you.
Then, you must submit your MMJ registration to the Department's Medical Marijuana Program. Fill out the registration form found here. While submitting your application, you will be asked to present the following documents:
Proof of Identity:
* Driver’s License from Connecticut or from another state
* A Connecticut State ID
* A firearm permit from Connecticut
* A valid US Passport
* A Card designating permanent residency
* A Certificate of U.S. Naturalization
* A Certificate of U.S. Citizenship
Proof of Connecticut residency:
* A bill from a utility company, doctor, or hospital
* A statement from your bank or mortgage lender
* A pay stub that includes your name and address along with that of your employer
* A recent W-2 form, tax statements, such as excise or property, or summary statements for Social Security, pensions or other retirement accounts dating from the current or previous years.
* Benefits documents for Medicare and Medicaid
* An active homeowner’s, renter’s, motor vehicle, or other insurance policy paperwork from the current or prior year of the application
* Documents regarding a current vehicle loan in the name of the applicant
* An active lease or another rental contract from the year of the applicant. The contract must include the signatures of all parties in the contract.
* First-class mail with your current address used for the application
* A Connecticut voter registration card
Finally, an applicant must pay the $100 associated registration fee. Keep in mind that payment via checks or money orders should be made out to the Treasure of Connecticut.
Cannabis was long criminalized in the state of Connecticut, dating back to Richard Nixon's passing of the Controlled Substances Act. However, the tides began to shift when marijuana was first decriminalized by the then Governor Dannel Malloy in 2011. Not long after the same Governor signed legislation that legalized the state's medical-marijuana program in 2012.
Nevertheless, marijuana remained illegal for recreational use or possession. That is until 2018 when the Connecticut General Assembly approved a recreational marijuana bill. Since then, dozens of dispensaries have opened throughout the state.
Qualifying Connecticut residents must first be diagnosed with one of the below debilitating medical conditions that are listed by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection. All patients must be evaluated by a state-licensed physician and be at least 18 years of age. Qualifying patients also must have a Connecticut residency. No inmates in the correctional facilities being overseen by the Connecticut Department of Corrections qualify for medical marijuana.
Here is the list in full:
The list of debilitating medical conditions is maintained by the Department of Consumer Protections. As such, the Department Commission has established a Board of Physicians, all of whom are state-licensed physicians and surgeons. This board will be responsible for recommending to the Department of Consumer Protection other debilitating medical, treatments, or diseases that should also be eligible for the use of medical marijuana. Not only that, but the Department of Consumer Protection has laid out regulations on medical marijuana to allow members of the public to present a petition to the Board if they wish to recommend other qualifying medical conditions or treatments.
The Connecticut legislation explicitly states that health insurance companies are not required to cover MMJ.
No. Patients have several restrictions regarding the acceptable location of their cannabis use. Medical patients cannot use cannabis while:
* In a city or town bus;In a school bus;
* In any other moving vehicles;
* In the workplace;
* In any public or private school, dormitory, college, or university property or campuses;
* In any public places;
* In the direct presence of anyone under the age of 18.
The bill has also prohibited the use of any kind of medicinal marijuana that can risk the health or physical well-being of anyone outside the patient or their primary caregiver.
Connecticut medicinal cannabis patients are allowed up to 2.5 ounces per month unless otherwise stated by their evaluating marijuana physician. This possession limit, if applicable, can only be changed after the express permission is granted from the Department's Board of Physicians.
No. Under the Connecticut legislation, this would constitute unlawful discrimination. Medical patients should see no difference in their ability to rent property.
No, for the same reasons potential tenants cannot be discriminated against, students cannot legally face discrimination based on their MMJ status.
No, however, the law allows employers to ban the use of all medical marijuana or other substances within the workplace or within work hours. Be sure you are knowledgeable on your workplace’s drug use policies.
Connecticut's medical marijuana legislation does not force doctors or medical facilities to conclude that medicinal cannabis is a proper treatment for every patient with a qualifying condition. Yet, if you feel as though you are not being provided with the appropriate medical treatments, you are free to seek a second opinion from another doctor. But keep in mind, the Department of Consumer Protection can and will not refer you to a separate cannabis practitioner, because of the necessary confidentiality of any medical information they’ve collected.
During the mandatory MMJ evaluation, your weed doctor will also be assessing whether you would also need a primary caregiver in addition to your cannabis certification. Connecticut's Department of Consumer Protection will then register the patient's caregiver using the written certification from your weed doctor.
Those qualifications to become a Connecticut caregiver are:
* 18 years old or older;
* Must consent to the management of the physical well-being of the qualifying patients in their medicinal use of marijuana;
* Must have a clean criminal record, with no convictions regarding any law focused on the illegal manufacture, sale, or distribution of any controlled substance;
* Must not be the evaluating weed doctor for the designated patient.
Not only that, but primary caregivers must be the patient’s parent or legal guardian if they lack legal standing themselves.
Following the approval by your MMJ doctor, along with a recommendation to designate a caregiver, the medical patient can decide who exactly their caregiver will be providing the chosen individual meets the previously stated requirements. In fact, the caregiver application with the Department cannot be started before a medical patient has formally designated them as their primary caregiver.
The Department will only allow medical patients to designate one primary caregiver.
Normally, no caregivers are not allowed; however, an exception is made if the caregiver has a parental, guardianship, conservatorship, or sibling relationship with all of the qualifying patients in question.
A patient must first be reevaluated by their weed doctor before the expiration date of their annual MMJ certification. Afterward, patients just need to pay the associated fee to renew their MMJ status.
Connecticut medical marijuana patients can change their primary caregivers while they renew their MMJ registration.
A Connecticut MMJ certification is only valid for one year following the approval of a state-licensed physician. As such, evaluating MMJ doctors must, again, determine that medical marijuana is appropriate for the patient using the same criteria for the initial MMJ appointment.