If you're approved, you'll be notified within 15 business days that the card is ready for pickup from one of the public health offices in your area.
Georgia always took a very hard line against cannabis in the past. They even went so far as to allow the DEA to damage Chattahoochee National Forest with paraquat in an attempt to stop guerilla cultivation. The citizens of the state managed to get a restraining order against further spraying, but not before some areas had already been thoroughly doused with the poison.
Oddly, Georgia has had a medical marijuana law on the books for glaucoma and cancer patients since 1980. Mona Taft's bill passed the state Senate and House with an overwhelming majority, but the program never supplied a single patient with the medicine.
A 2015 bill approved low THC oil, but state patients are still waiting for the supply chain to begin providing patients. House Bill 324 was passed in 2019 to clear the way for in state cultivation. Incidentally, many cities in the state have decriminalized possession, including Atlanta, Savannah, Clarkston, South Fulton, Forest Park, Kingsland, Statesboro, Macon-Bibb County and Chamblee.
Georgia's law is very limited. It does not allow the sale of flower or the production and sale of infused food products. The law also doesn't allow use of vape pens or other inhalation methods. The only thing allowed is low-THC oil containing up to 5% THC.
Here is the list in full:
Any adult with one of the qualifying conditions listed above or a parent or legal guardian of a child or adult who has a qualifying condition.
The card costs $25. You'll pay for it when you pick it up at your Public Health Office.
Replacement cards cost $25 as well. If your card is lost, you should call the Office of Vital Records (404-679-4702) and select option 4. The office will call your physician to confirm that you still qualify and then send a replacement card to your local Public Health Office.
Georgia's got a slightly different system than other states. They will call you when they've approved you and ask you which state office you would like to pick your card up at.
A Georgia Low THC Oil Registry card is good for two years from the date of issue.
Yes, you can laminate it to make it last longer. Do not make any other alterations to the card.
At the time of this writing, the Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission had not yet solidified its plans for cultivation, manufacturing and distribution of cannabis oil. You can check with their website here periodically for updates.
Although marijuana has been decriminalized in some cities, it's still a violation of the law to cultivate, manufacture or possess marijuana in Georgia. And it is definitely illegal to sell it without a state license.