Hawaii has had legal medical marijuana since 2000, when then governor Ben Cayentano signed Act 228 into law. The law only allowed patients to grow cannabis or have a caregiver grow it for them, however. It didn't allow for commercial cultivation and sales.
Hawaii created the Medical Marijuana Dispensary Program in 2015, which required all medical marijuana patients to register with the state. Patients received a card from the Department of Health, called a 329 Registration Card, that they were required to have with them whenever they possessed marijuana.
By 2016, Senate Bill 321 cleared the way for 8 dispensaries to begin operating in the state. The first legal medical cannabis sale took place in August, 2017 on the island of Maui. Commercial sales are in full swing on the island now, and medical cannabis is available on the islands of Maui, Kauai, Oahu and Hawaii. Lanai and Molokai don't have any dispensaries.
The lack of dispensaries on Lanai and Molokai causes difficulty for patients there since Governor Ige vetoed HB 290, which would have allowed patients to carry their cannabis on inter-island flights. This means that even though it's legal to buy commercial medical marijuana in Hawaii, the only way to legally obtain it on Lanai and Molokai is to grow it yourself, or have a caregiver grow it for you. Fortunately, Hawaii is a great place to grow.
In July, 2019, Hawaii decriminalized possession of up to 3 grams of cannabis. This is a little less than an eighth. The bill, which the governor let pass without signature, imposes a $130 fine for these small amounts. The former law imposed up to 30 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. Of course, it's best to get your medical marijuana card rather than pay a fine.
Hawaii medical marijuana cards, or 329 cards, can only be issued by the state. First you'll need to see a doctor to confirm that you have a qualifying condition, and then you'll need to register on the state's website.
Yes. Here is the list in full:
No. Smoking cannabis in public is illegal even if you're a registered patient.
You must consume cannabis within the confines of your home or other private property where you have permission, and your consumption must be out of view.
You can purchase up to 4 ounces at a time and up to 8 ounces in a month. You can only possess 4 ounces of usable cannabis at any one time.
Yes! You can grow cannabis yourself as a registered patient, or you can designate a caregiver to do so. If you want to have your caregiver cultivate for you instead, then fill out your caregiver's information as well during the application process. You'll need to print the required documents, sign them and have your caregiver sign them.
You'll need a driver's license or ID or U.S. Passport.
No. All medical marijuana doctors protect their patients' records under HIPAA because they are required to maintain privacy by both state and federal law.
Unless the doctor has stated a shorter period of time, medical marijuana recommendations last one year. It's recommended to start the renewal process up to 6 weeks in advance of the expiration date on your medical marijuana card.