No need to wait for appointments! Just log in to your NuggMD account any day of the week between 8am and 10pm. Then, answer a few questions to be connected with a medical professional. The process should take just a few minutes.
Once approved by your MMJ medical professional, they will enter your certification into the state's system. Your confirmation email should arrive in 24 to 48 hours. Once received, you will follow the instructions to complete your state registration.
After the state registration is complete and you’ve gotten your medical ID, typically within 3 to 10 days of your appointment, it can be used at any licensed dispensary in the state -- it also works with delivery!
Massachusetts patients using NuggMD receive a one-year recommendation certificate from a licensed, registered doctor in the state. After the year, renewals are typically fast and easy to complete.
Medical records are secured and protected under HIPAA guidelines. Plus, you won’t have to sit in a public waiting room while waiting.
After your evaluation, approved patients should receive certification in 24 to 48 hours.
We only bill you for an evaluation after receiving approval from a physician. NuggMD provides safe and secure payment. Our processor accepts AmEx, Discover, Mastercard and Visa.
Our team of expert customer service professionals is on-call daily from 8am to 10pm to assist Massachusetts patients in seeing their physician at their convenience.
Our team of customer service professionals assisted thousands of patients across America to date. We aim to complete each person’s certification process without making anyone leave their home.
With 63% of the vote, Massachusetts voters approved of Question 3, better known as the Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Initiative. The law took effect on January 1, 2013, allowing for 35 non-profit medical marijuana dispensaries to open. Patients with an approved, qualified medical condition must provide their certification to receive a PIN that enables them to register with the program.
Doctors who wish to take part in the program must ensure that they are a state-licensed MD or DO while holding an active license without any restrictions applied. Applicants must also have a Massachusetts Controlled Substances Registration (MCSR) and at least one practice established in the state. The state has similar requirements for Nurse Practitioners and physician assistants.
Per state law, applicants and renewing patients must have one of the following debilitating medical conditions:
The state qualifies "debilitating" as "causing weakness, cachexia, wasting syndrome, intractable pain, or nausea, or impairing strength or ability, and progressing to such an extent that one or more of a patient's major life activities is substantially limited."
Applicants can register for the program online or via mail. Once certified, you will receive a PIN to register online. In addition to a PIN, applicants must provide a current form of ID. Mail applicants need to include an acceptable photo of themselves for their license. Online applicants will upload their picture through the state's online portal.
After being approved, online applicants should receive their certification in one to two days, with mail applicants having to wait a few more days before receiving their recommendation. At this time, approved patients can list up to two caregivers for their treatment.
Those applying to be caretakers must have a PIN of the approved patient they aim to provide care to. They must also present a valid form of ID and a current photo under the same terms as an patient who is applying would.
After registering with the program, applying caregivers should receive an email that contains a link to complete the registration process. Applicants have seven days from the email being sent to complete the process. The link is only valid the first time the link gets clicked. Once approved, caregivers must carry their cards at all times.
Patient licenses expire annually in Massachusetts. Those looking to renew can start the process as early as 60 days before the license is set to expire. It is advised that patients begin the process sooner to avoid any potential lapses in coverage.
Patients can check the validity of their license using the state's MMJ Online System, or by calling the state's office for the program at (833) 869-6820. Whichever way you prefer, be sure you understand when your license is up for renewal.
Having a valid license is also part of renewing a caregiver ID card. The program ID expires the same day as a program registration card does. When approved, the state will send a new license to you.
The state’s website portal provides detailed walkthroughs for both patients and caregivers. Whether renewing or applying for the first time, detailed website information should make the process as seamless as possible.
Qualified patients can possess up to a two-month supply of medical cannabis unless a Certifying Healthcare Provider (CHP) determines an additional amount is required. Per state rules, patients can receive up to a 14-day supply, or 2.5 oz of cannabis. A physician can set a different 14-day supply. Options include a 60-day supply of medical marijuana, totaling no more than 10 ounces of cannabis. Possession rules are the same for caregivers.
With a population of just under 7 million, Massachusetts has been a beacon for cannabis reform on the east coast over the past decade.
As of May 31, 2019, the state had over 59,000 patients actively involved with the program. They are joined by just over 7,000 active caregivers and 293 CHPs. Data from Arcview Market Research and BDS Analytics found that the state boasts 51 dispensaries dedicated to serving just the medical market. An additional 15 stores serve both adult users and medical patients.
Medical reform gets sandwiched between the state's 2008 decriminalization law, and its 2016 adult use reform passage. In each case, the measure passed via a ballot initiative. While medical patients have been served, complaints about the adult use market exist. In many cases, it is alleged that a local host community agreement stipulation allows local governments to create de-facto bans of retail locations in their city.
I recommend this program! The process was very easy and straight forward.
I appreciate all the help of NUGGMD team and their patience since I did have a lot of questions for them! 5/5 STARS!
My Experience was absolutely perfect. I had all my questions answered quickly. They assisted me the entire time. And from my consultation to them issuing my card was only a day. I recommend them to anybody wanting their card.
NUGGMD made the process very easy and straightforward. Nointimidation and courteous. I will very definitely tell others aboutthis process. Thank You.
I HIGHLY recommend this NUGGmd. The process was approved in less than 24 hours. You make an account and speak to a doctor in less than 20 mins. They are professional and informative.
It was a seamless process and I recommend to anyone who is on the fence about using this company !!
Amazing, fast, simple, and straightforward. Would recommend to everyone
Trying to get a medical marijuana card was a difficult task until I found out about NuggMD. After speaking with a licensed doctor, I was emailed a list of instructions to follow in order to submit my paperwork to the state.
I recommend this website to anyone who is looking for a medical marijuana card. It was such a simple and quick process!!
NuggMD provides applicants and renewing patients with several Massachusetts-based physicians to work with. Enter www.nuggmd.com/Massachusetts into your preferred browser to begin connecting. It should only take minutes.
Only if your physician registers with the state’s program. Otherwise, you’ll need to choose a doctor or medical professional that is qualified by the state. NuggMD streamlines the process by providing a list of professionals who already have their approval to practice in the program.
You'll need the following documents to apply:
1) Proof of Oklahoma residency, which can be satisfied by one of the following:
2) Proof of identity, which can be satisfied with one of the following:
3) A clear, color, digital photo of your full face
4) Your Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form dated within 30 days of application submission
5) Your Medicare or Sooner Care card or proof of veterans status if you're applying for the discounted application fee of $20.
Massachusetts law and HIPAA protect patient records from being shared with the public. That said, patients should remember that they will be put on a list with the Department of Health.
Massachusetts considers a range of debilitating conditions for its list of qualifying conditions. They include many common conditions, such as AIDS, HIV, MS and Parkinson's to name a few. Other conditions like wasting syndrome, intractable pain and other conditions that affect a person's ability to live their life also make the list. A complete list can be found here.
Patients using NuggMD only get billed for appointments where they receive approval from the doctor.
After registering with the state portal, you should submit a valid form of ID, as well as proof that you have a residency in Massachusetts. These two documents should accompany a photo of yourself to complete your submission process.
You must pay a $50 annual registration fee. The state offers a low-income hardship waiver for those that can verify that you do not exceed 300% of the federal poverty level according to family size.
NuggMD will void the temporary pre-authorization on your credit card if a physician doesn’t approve you for the program. The voided fee may still appear on bank statements for several days. Therefore, please allow a few business days to pass to confirm the charge has been voided.
You can also change your mind after receiving approval. If you haven’t registered yet, let our customer service team know and we’ll start the process of refunding you.
Data from Budzu found that grams of high-quality cannabis run at an average price of $17.05, with two grams of top-shelf product selling for $40. Keep in mind that prices do vary, and should be assessed, if possible, before stopping in to make your purchase.
Unfortunately, out-of-state visitors cannot participate in Massachusetts’ medical cannabis marketplace. However, they may find success through the adult use marketplace, which continues to add locations across the state.
It appears that medical cannabis patients are protected from losing their job or role at work over their consumption. A notable case in 2017 did see a new hire fired for her use. However, the state Supreme Judicial Court ruled the person could bring a disability claim against the company.
No, when Massachusetts passed adult use legalization in 2016, a provision in Question 4 stipulated that a judge cannot cite medical cannabis use as the sole reason for a person to lose custody of their child. That said, legal experts have said this doesn't prevent the state from pursuing cannabis as a reason for losing parental rights.
Under these rules, most residents of the state who are over 18 and seek cannabis treatment will qualify. Parents or guardians who have a minor patient who needs cannabis treatment (if for instance, the child has Dravet's or epilepsy) will need to have their child evaluated and approved by two completely independent, state-licensed physicians.
Yes, patients and caregivers can renew their license within 60 days of their current ID expiring.
While perceptions shift towards its favor, many doctors remain unwilling to discuss medical cannabis for their patients, much less recommend it. Medical marijuana is still a topic most schools don’t discuss due to its stigma and federal prohibition. In fact, most won’t even teach about the endocannabinoid system and its effect on plant cannabinoids.
NuggMD is happy to fill the information void. We connect licensed physicians with patients in need to complete the required provisions in an application. These educated and experienced medical professionals are happy to discuss the medicinal benefits of the plant, as well as any other questions a patient has. They’re so glad to educate.