Save up to 15% for Prime week!

Unlock Savings
medical cannabis patient

Get approved today for a medical cannabis card in Delaware, 100% online.

Get approved today in minutes with the nation’s #1 trusted med card provider.

100% Online.
Approved or your money back.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Delaware

  • 1. Chat with a Doctor Today

    Fill out a 30-second, confidential questionnaire. We’ll send it to one of our available medical marijuana doctors for review. Our state-certified medical practitioners are standing by to help answer your questions and evaluate your cannabis needs.

  • 2. Get Approved

    If your doctor approves you for cannabis treatment, you'll initiate the registration process with the state's application portal. Your doctor will then receive a notification to complete your certification.

  • 3. Get Your Med Card

    The state will notify you within 45 days of receiving the application of your approval status. Your Delaware medical marijuana card is valid for 1 year.

Get Your Card Doctors are online 8am-10pm

As seen on

  • 5e3a0fcb25634a510e6bc141_leafly
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a48bc6bc13f_ganja
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a66c46bc147_mic-300x300-1
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a646e6bc135_digital trends
  • 5e3a0fcb25634aa3b26bc145_tech-crunch-300x300-1
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a74aa6bc139_engadget
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a871a6bc133_Business Insider
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a66826bc143_marijuana break

Why get a medical cannabis card in Delaware?
Meet your perks.

Until adult-use sales begin, you must have a med card to purchase or possess cannabis in Delaware legally.
Tap to Learn More

Purchasing legal medical cannabis from a Delaware dispensary ensures you're using safe, tested product.
Tap to Learn More

Med patients in Delaware receive legal protections that aren't available to consumers without a med card.
Tap to Learn More

Get support from a qualified Delaware practitioner who can answer your healthcare and cannabis questions.
Tap to Learn More

Trusted and loved by over 1M people.

  • " Could not have been an easier process! From online doctor interview to receiving temporary ID card by email, it was so straightforward and quick. So happy I found NuggMD!"

    Janet D.

    Janet D.

    4 months ago
  • " The evaluation was easy to fill out and I was contacted by a doctor within minutes. It made what could have been a complicated process straightforward, highly recommend!"

    Linda D.

    Linda D.

    4 months ago
  • " NuggMD walked me through the process and held my hand (figuratively) the whole way. Registering was quick and easy ... and unbelievably fast. I definitely recommend their services."

    Rafael A.

    Rafael A.

    4 months ago
  • " I really appreciate the fast and easy navigation of the website. I was kept informed thru the whole process. It is reassuring to know I can have a stress-free experience with NuggMD"

    Claire K.

    Claire K.

    4 months ago

Qualifying conditions in Delaware

As of May 29, 2024 Delaware’s Governor signed HB285 into law, which allows doctors to certify patients for any conditions they think will benefit from medical cannabis. Additionally, patients over 65 may self-certify without need for physician approval.

If you have attempted to certify for cannabis treatment before, but did not qualify, you may qualify now.

Some conditions which qualify for treatment include, but aren’t limited to:

How to be a medical cannabis caregiver in Delaware

In the state of Delaware, a caregiver is defined as a person selected by the patient authorized to possess, obtain, and assist in dispensing their medical marijuana treatment.

To qualify as a designated caregiver, you must register with the state and complete a background check. Caregivers may have up to 5 patients, but each one requires a separate application and card. The caregiver is also allowed to be a medical patient if their medical marijuana card application is completed and approved.

For patients under 18 with a qualifying medical condition and a physician’s recommendation for medical cannabis, a caregiver application is required.

Learn how to become a Delaware caregiver.

How to register for a med card in Delaware

Gather all necessary medical documents and make an appointment with your doctor.

Before visiting the doctor, head to Delaware’s medical marijuana online portal. If you’re visiting a physician who isn’t registered for cannabis recommendations with the state, you’ll want to print out their portion of the application. If you require a caregiver, fill out that portion of the application as well.

If you’re approved by your licensed physician for medical cannabis treatment, fill out the rest of your application and submit it to the state either digitally or by mail. Make sure to submit your nonrefundable $50 fee.

You’ll be notified within 45 days of the state receiving the application of your status. If approved, your Delaware medical marijuana card is valid for 1 year.

Read More

How to renew your med card in Delaware

Delaware used to require annual renewals for medical marijuana cards, but HB285 now allows 2 and 3 year certifications once regulations for the appropriate fees are established.  Renewals are required yearly until then.

Thankfully, the process for how to renew your Delaware medical cannabis card isn’t complicated. And NuggMD makes the process even easier!

  • We’ll notify you that it’s time for your renewal. You can apply to renew as early as 90 days prior to your medical marijuana card’s card expiration date.
  • Fill out the same paperwork as you did when you first applied
  • Pay the $50 fee & receive your renewed Delaware medical marijuana card.

We’re the #1 medical marijuana platform in the nation.
Here's how we stack up.

Online providers Offices
Same day physician access
No appointment needed
Pay only if approved
50+ in-network docs
100% online
7-day live support
Successful team

The NuggMD Promise

We are a team of cannabis and technology professionals focused on connecting you with state-licensed doctors. We believe all people deserve access to medical cannabis if they think it might improve their quality of life. Since our founding in 2015, we’ve held ourselves and our partners to the highest standards to ensure every patient we serve is able to access reliable cannabis information, trustworthy medical practitioners, and proactive updates on the cannabis healthcare ecosystem and legislation that may affect their experience as a medical cannabis patient.

Whether you’re a cannabis connoisseur or thinking of becoming a first-time medical marijuana patient, our network of doctors will listen to your needs and give you an honest opinion about whether they think cannabis can help.

Get Your Card Billed only if approved.

Frequently asked. Frequently answered.

  • Delaware state residents, evaluated by a licensed medical doctor and approved by the state, are eligible for medical marijuana.

     

    Also, adults aged 65 or older may self-certify for medical marijuana without the need for an evaluation.

     

    Patients under the age of 18 require approval from a parent or guardian and may only be approved for cannabis oil.

     

    Delaware now also extends reciprocity to visiting medical marijuana patients who are registered for cannabis or have an equivalent certification in their home state.

     

    Browse other common Delaware patient questions.

  • Doctors may now certify patients for “any other diagnosed medical condition or disease for which a healthcare practitioner determines a patient would receive palliative or therapeutic benefit from the use of medical marijuana.”

     

    Some of thee conditions include, but aren’t limited to:

     

    • Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
    • Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease
    • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease)
    • Anxiety (patients with Anxiety may qualify for a CBD Rich Only Card)
    • Autism with aggressive behavior
    • Cancer
    • Chronic Debilitating Migraine
    • Decompensated Cirrhosis
    • Glaucoma
    • Positive status for Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV Positive)
    • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
    • Terminal Illness
    • A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following: Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome; Severe debilitating pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measure for more than three months, or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects; Intractable Nausea; Seizures; Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those characteristic of Multiple Sclerosis.
  • Doctors are now allowed to certify patients for “any other diagnosed medical condition or disease for which a healthcare practitioner determines a patient would receive palliative or therapeutic benefit from the use of medical marijuana.”

  • As of now, Delaware only grants access to medical marijuana to those with approved medical marijuana cards. Recreational cannabis sales will begin in late 2024.

  • NuggMD offers low-cost, risk-free Delaware medical cannabis evaluations, and you only pay if you’re approved for medical cannabis. The cost to submit an application for a medical marijuana card in Delaware is $50, non-refundable.

  • Cannabis remains federally illegal. Because of this status, healthcare companies will not cover the costs associated with medical cannabis treatment, even with a valid state card. This may change as legislation changes throughout the country.

  • Getting your medical marijuana evaluation with NuggMD takes just minutes. You don’t even need an appointment. The state of Delaware will approve your application within 45 days of receiving it.

  • With NuggMD, you are ONLY charged for your evaluation if you are approved. We believe everyone deserves access to a qualified medical cannabis doctor, and the cost of an evaluation shouldn’t be a barrier.

  • You’ll only be charged if you’re approved for your medical marijuana certification. If not, your evaluation is free! If you sign up and pay for your evaluation, but then cancel before your evaluation, there is a small $10 fee for the payment processing. You can also change your mind after your evaluation if you wish and request a refund, but you must do so before your certification has been submitted to the state. Once you’ve been certified, a refund for services will no longer be available. Please send an email to support@nuggmd.com with the subject line “Refund Request” and a brief description of your issue. We want to make sure you’re 100% satisfied with your purchase being that you, the customer, are the most important thing to us! Once a refund has been initiated, please allow 3-5 business days for the funds to transfer back to the card you used for the transaction. A refund is no longer available more than 30 days after the date of your evaluation. If any issues arise, please feel free to reach back out for further assistance.

  • Of course! You can see any Delaware-licensed MD, DO, PA, or APRN  for your initial or renewal application for medical marijuana.

  • This depends on the state to which you’re traveling. Each state has different rules regarding reciprocity, and some don’t allow it at all. Check with your destination state to learn more.

  • While you don’t need a Delaware state ID specifically, you’ll need a government-issued form of identification and proof of state residency.

Get Your Card Billed only if approved.