Splash up to 10% off this Summer

Unlock Savings
medical cannabis patient

Get approved today for a medical cannabis card in Virginia, 100% online.

Get approved today in minutes with the nation’s #1 trusted med card provider.

100% Online.
Approved or your money back.

How to Get a Medical Card in Virginia in Minutes

  • 1. Signup

    Fill out a 30-second, confidential questionnaire. We’ll send it to one of our available medical marijuana doctors for review.

  • 2. Chat with a Doctor Today

    Our state-certified medical practitioners are standing by to help answer your questions and evaluate your cannabis needs.

  • 3. Get Your Med Card

    Getting your recommendation with NuggMD is fast and easy, and you can purchase and possess medical marijuana as soon as you have your physician’s written certification. Virginia no longer requires patients to register with the state. Your Virginia certification and medical cannabis card are valid for one year.

Get Your Card Doctors are online 8am-10pm

As seen on

  • 5e3a0fcb25634a510e6bc141_leafly
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a48bc6bc13f_ganja
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a66c46bc147_mic-300x300-1
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a646e6bc135_digital trends
  • 5e3a0fcb25634aa3b26bc145_tech-crunch-300x300-1
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a74aa6bc139_engadget
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a871a6bc133_Business Insider
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a66826bc143_marijuana break

Why get a medical cannabis card in Virginia?
Meet your perks.

Until adult-use sales begin, you must have a medical cannabis card to purchase or possess cannabis in Virginia legally.
Tap to Learn More

VA medical card holders can possess up to 4 ounces compared to 1 ounce for adult users without a medical card.
Tap to Learn More

Medical cannabis patients only pay 5.3% sales tax and are exempt from the upcoming 21% recreational cannabis tax and local taxes on adult-use sales.
Tap to Learn More

Medical cannabis patients in Virginia receive employment protections that aren't available to recreational consumers.
Tap to Learn More

Trusted and loved by over 1M people.

  • " I was surprised when the doctor was ready to see me in under 10 minutes… The guy I spoke to was super friendly and discussed a lot of information that a new patient can use. I had a great experience!"

    Armin L.

    Armin L.

    4 months ago
  • " The ease and speed of which I was able to be seen and receive my medical marijuana card was extraordinary! I will recommend to others who are seeking their medical cards, as well. Thank you NuggMD!"

    Rosie M.

    Rosie M.

    4 months ago
  • " NuggMD was great! I felt heard, supported, and respected. The Doctor was informed of my circumstances and affirmed my efforts to receive help… I felt I was in a non-judgmental environment. Thank you."

    Paul L.

    Paul L.

    4 months ago
  • " The video chat was quick and easy, and the doctor was super polite and helpful! I was waiting to get my card because I thought it'd be difficult but they made it so easy! They deserve 5 stars easily!"

    Josh K.

    Josh K.

    4 months ago
  • " Definitely worth it. I did my research and started with Veriheal; this was a very simple smooth transaction in NY. State registered with ease. Alleviated my back pain. Highly recommended!"

    C’mecca C.

    C’mecca C.

    4 months ago

Qualifying conditions in Virginia

Virginia doesn’t have a set list of qualifying conditions. Instead, the decision is up to the doctor. Currently, the law allows practitioners to issue written certifications for cannabis to “alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use.”

How to be a medical cannabis caregiver in Virginia

Some patients choose to have – or are required to have – a designated caregiver, known as a “registered agent” in Virginia, who can purchase cannabis on their behalf. They’re also allowed to transport it and prepare it for patient use.

In order to obtain cannabis products for patients in Virginia, the patient – or if they’re a minor or “vulnerable adult,” the patient’s parent or legal guardian – must designate a registered agent. The designating individual and the registered agent must have written certification from a registered practitioner to possess medical cannabis. While patients are no longer required to register with the Board of Pharmacy as of July 1, 2022, registered agents are still required to register with the state if they were not included on the written certification for the patient originally.

To qualify as your caregiver, they must:

  • be responsible for the management of the wellbeing of the registered patient concerning their palliative use of cannabis,
  • be at least 18 years of age,
  • be designated by the patient or designated by a guardian, legal custodian or parent if the patient is a minor or an adult that lacks legal capacity,
  • register with the Board of Pharmacy.

Caregivers cannot:

  • use the patient’s cannabis,
  • be the patient’s doctor,
  • provide care for more than two medical marijuana patients,
  • purchase more than the maximum amount allowed for the patient.

The caregiver application fee is $25.

Read More

How to register for a medical cannabis card in Virginia

Follow the instructions once you start the NuggMD process to fill out your application. Make sure you enter all of your information accurately to avoid possible delays in your processing. When you’re approved, your NuggMD medical marijuana doctor will provide your written certification.

As of July 1, 2022, medical cannabis patients in Virginia are no longer required to register with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. However, if you want a “digital Validation of Written Certification,” you will need to complete an application and pay a $50 processing fee through the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority online portal, where you can also print a physical copy.

Read More

How to renew your medical cannabis card in Virginia

Renewing your medical marijuana card in VA is an annual requirement for the program.

Thankfully, the process for how to renew your Virginia medical cannabis card is easy with NuggMD!

  • We’ll send an email reminder when it’s time to renew.
  • Sign into NuggMD to meet with one of our state-certified medical practitioners.
  • Get your certification. Once you have your certification, you’re free to purchase and possess medical cannabis. You no longer have to register with the state.

Whether you got your initial recommendation with NuggMD or another doctor or service in the state, our medical marijuana doctors are standing by.

We’re the #1 medical marijuana platform in the nation.
Here's how we stack up.

Online providers Offices
Same day physician access
No appointment needed
Pay only if approved
50+ in-network docs
100% online
7-day live support
Successful team

The NuggMD Promise

We are a team of cannabis and technology professionals focused on connecting you with state-licensed doctors. We believe all people deserve access to medical cannabis if they think it might improve their quality of life. Since our founding in 2015, we’ve held ourselves and our partners to the highest standards to ensure every patient we serve is able to access reliable cannabis information, trustworthy medical practitioners, and proactive updates on the cannabis healthcare ecosystem and legislation that may affect their experience as a medical cannabis patient.

Whether you’re a cannabis connoisseur or thinking of becoming a first-time medical marijuana patient, our network of doctors will listen to your needs and give you an honest opinion about whether they think cannabis can help.

Get Your Card Billed only if approved.

Frequently asked. Frequently answered.

  • To qualify for a VA medical marijuana card, you must have a valid government-issued ID proving you are a Virginia resident. Minors are permitted to participate in the program with a registered caregiver who is either a parent, legal guardian, or registered agent assigned by the parent or legal guardian. Rather than provide a list of qualifying conditions like most states, Virginia leaves the medical marijuana card determinations up to its registered physicians.

     

    Find answers to other common Virginia patient FAQs.

  • Virginia doesn’t have a set list of qualifying conditions. Instead, the decision is up to the doctor. Currently, the law allows practitioners to issue written certifications for cannabis to “alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use.”

  • You might be! Unlike many other states, Virginia doesn’t have a set list of qualifying medical conditions. Rather, VA state law allows medical practitioners to issue MMJ certifications if they believe the use of cannabis may “alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease.”

  • Until adult-use sales begin in Virginia, which isn’t expected until late 2024, a medical cannabis card is the only way to purchase cannabis in Virginia legally. Even after recreational cannabis is available, medical cannabis card holders can expect a range of benefits, including exemption from the 21% recreational cannabis tax, higher purchase limits, increased legal protections, and access to a greater number of dispensaries and products.

  • NuggMD offers low-cost Virginia medical cannabis evaluations, and there’s no risk because you’re only billed if you’re approved for the use of medical cannabis.

  • No, Virginia’s current legislation doesn’t require health insurance companies to cover medical marijuana.

  • You can complete your VA medical cannabis evaluation with NuggMD in minutes, and you can begin purchasing cannabis products as soon as you receive your written certification. If you want an optional digital Verification of Written Certification, you must apply with the Cannabis Control Authority, where it can take approximately 10 business days to process your application. You don’t need a physical medical card to purchase cannabis in Virginia.

  • When you get your evaluation with NuggMD, there’s no risk to you. You are ONLY charged if you are approved.

  • You’ll only be charged if you’re approved for your medical marijuana certification. If not, your evaluation is free! If you sign up and pay for your evaluation, but then cancel before your evaluation, there is a small $10 fee for the payment processing. You can also change your mind after your evaluation if you wish and request a refund, but you must do so before your certification has been submitted to the state. Once you’ve been certified, a refund for services will no longer be available. Please send an email to support@nuggmd.com with the subject line “Refund Request” and a brief description of your issue. We want to make sure you’re 100% satisfied with your purchase being that you, the customer, are the most important thing to us! Once a refund has been initiated, please allow 3-5 business days for the funds to transfer back to the card you used for the transaction. A refund is no longer available more than 30 days after the date of your evaluation. If any issues arise, please feel free to reach back out for further assistance.

  • Absolutely! You can see any doctor you choose for your renewal evaluation. When you transfer to NuggMD, be sure to bring your medical records to help your friendly NuggMD practitioner provide a thorough and complete evaluation.

  • This depends on the state to which you’re traveling. Each state has different rules regarding reciprocity. Some only allow patients from certain states, while others only allow patients with certain conditions. Check with your destination state’s medical cannabis program to learn more.

  • You can use other valid government-issued IDs, but the department prefers a Virginia driver’s license or identification card. For a complete list of documents needed for a Virginia medical marijuana card, see the Cannabis Control Authority patient registration instructions.

     

    Read more about Virginia cannabis laws and regulations.

Get Your Card Billed only if approved.