Speak with a Medical
Marijuana Doctor in Minnesota

Bummer! NuggMD doctors aren’t yet able to issue medical marijuana cards in Minnesota.

Not to worry though, we’ll be the first to offer online cannabis evaluations once Minnesota allows them. Click below to join our waitlist and receive a discount once our services are available!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Explore

Select Your State to Get Started

Select Your State to
Get Started

The #1 Medical Marijuana Platform in the World
With Over 600,000 Patients Served

The #1 Medical Marijuana
Platform in the World
With Over 600,000
Patients Served

Loved by journalists, celebrities, and grandmothers alike...

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Minnesota

Just follow these simple steps to get your MMJ card in Minnesota.

1) Gather your medical records. Minnesota's medical marijuana program requires you to be certified as having one of the qualifying medical conditions before you can enroll in the program. You can find the list of qualifying conditions in the FAQs below.

2) Get your MMJ evaluation. In order to join the program, you'll need to be certified for medical marijuana treatment by a licensed doctor of medicine, physician assistant or an advanced practice registered nurse. This doctor, physician assistant or APRN must be the person who is primarily responsible for treating your medical condition.

3) Get your recommendation to use cannabis. Once you and your practitioner have decided that you qualify for the program, print the Minnesota Medical Cannabis Program Patient E-Mail and Acknowledgement Form, fill out your name, DoB and Email address and give this form to your practitioner. While you are there, ask for a visit summary that lists all of your medications and medical conditions so this information can be provided to the pharmacist at your cannabis patient center.

4) Wait for your doctor to fill out your application with the state. Your practitioner will apply for your patient certification with the state.

5) Finish the registration process. Once you're certified, the Office of Medical cannabis will send you an email at the address you provided on the form you gave to your physician. This email will have an information sheet and a link for you to finish the registration process online.

Your certification is good for only 90 days, so you will have to make an appointment with your doctor every 3 months to re-certify. It can take up to 30 days to process an initial application.

The registration fee for the program must be paid annually by credit or debit card and is $200. Those who are on SSI, SSD, Medicaid, IHS, MNCare or CHAMPVA can pay a reduced fee of $50 if they can provide proof of status during their application.

1. SIGN UP

Fill out a short, online confidential form which we'll send to one of NuggMD's available doctors for review.

About Medical Marijuana Minnesota

The Minnesota Medical Marijuana Act was signed into law by Governor Mark Dayton in May 2014. As enacted, it was the single most restrictive program in the country. It only allowed treatment for nine very severe conditions and only allowed treatment via oil, liquids or pills. 

Since then, restrictions have eased slightly with intractable pain and PTSD being added to the list. In August 2020, age-related macular degeneration and chronic pain will be added to the list. This will make the program much more inclusive.

There are also efforts underway to completely legalize cannabis. Governor Tim Walz is a very strong supporter of legalization, but the Republican state senators killed the most recent legalization attempt on March 8, 2019. 
The effort to legalize is still underway with proposals to create a task force to study legalization, and a possible future constitutional amendment ballot question to let voters decide the issue.

Frequently Asked Questions
About Medical Marijuana in Minnesota

How do I contact Minnesota's medical cannabis program?

Minnesota Department of Health
PO Box 64882
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882
651-201-5598 (Metro)
844-879-3381 (Non-metro)
health.cannabis@state.mn.us
mn.gov/medicalcannabis

Does Minnesota have a list of qualifying conditions?

Yes. You must have one of the following conditions to qualify for the program:

  • HIV/AIDS
  • Glaucoma
  • Tourette Syndrome
  • Seizures or epilepsy
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those associated with Multiple Sclerosis.
  • Crohn's disease or other inflammatory bowel diseases
  • PTSD
  • Intractable pain
  • Obstructive sleep apnea
  • Autism
  • Any terminal illness with a life expectancy of one year
  • Cancer associated with severe wasting or cachexia, severe or chronic pain, or severe nausea or vomiting
  • Macular degeneration
  • Chronic pain

How much does my MMJ certification cost in Minnesota?

Certification with the state will cost $200. This fee is separate from any evaluation costs with your practitioner. People who are on SSI, SSD, CHAMPVA, Medicaid, MNCare or IHS qualify for a reduced fee of $50 if they can show proof of status.

How long does it take for the state to process my Minnesota Medical Marijuana Certification application?

It can take up to 30 days to process a medical marijuana program application, and all applications are processed in the order in which they are received.

What types of products are available in Minnesota?

Minnesota only allows oil, pills and liquids. Flower and edibles are not allowed.

Do I really need a medical marijuana card in Minnesota?

If you don't have a medical marijuana card in Minnesota, you could face severe criminal penalties. If you're caught with under 42.5 grams, you can be charged with a misdemeanor and a $200 fine. Any more than 42.5 grams, and you face a felony charge, 5 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.

Do I have to be a resident of Minnesota to join the medical marijuana program?

Yes. You will need to be able to prove that you're a resident of the state to join.

Can I smoke marijuana in public in Minnesota?

No. In fact, smoking cannabis is still prohibited for patients as well as for adult use. The only usable forms allowed are oil, liquid and pills. And it's advisable only to use cannabis at home.

Can I grow my own marijuana in Minnesota?

No.

Can I purchase cannabis in Minnesota with a card from another state?

No. Marijuana does not offer reciprocity to patients from other states.

Protected Payments & Privacy

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.