Get Your New Jersey
Medical Marijuana Card
Online in 15 Minutes.

Fast, easy process. Pay only if approved.

Fast, easy process.
Pay only if approved.

No appointment necessary. Only $139
GET YOUR CARD
Explore

Speak with a Medical
Marijuana Doctor in New Jersey

Bummer! NuggMD doctors aren’t yet able to issue medical marijuana cards in New Jersey.

Not to worry, we’ll be the first to offer online cannabis evaluations once New Jersey allows them. Click below to join our waitlist and receive a discount on services once available!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Explore

Select Your State to Get Started

Select Your State to
Get Started

The #1 Medical Marijuana Platform in the World
With Over 600,000 Patients Served

The #1 Medical Marijuana
Platform in the World
With Over 600,000
Patients Served

Loved by journalists, celebrities, and grandmothers alike...

Fast, Easy, and Cost-Effective for New Jersey

A Safe and Easy Online Process

Evaluations can be conducted with NuggMD without needing to book an appointment. We're available every day from 8AM to 10PM. Within minutes of completing your new patient information form, you'll be connected with a state-licensed physician in your area!

Documents Delivered Fast

After you've been approved by your weed doctor, we'll send you a copy of your recommendation to your email address within 24 to 48 hours. Once received, the recommendation can be used to apply for an MMJ ID from the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Registry.

Compassionate and Effective Service

We value the time and health of our customers above all else here at NuggMD. We also strive to provide each new patient with the quickest and most reliable medical marijuana recommendation service possible.

Your New Jersey Medical Marijuana Evaluation Includes

An MMJ Certification Valid for 2 Years

Each MMJ ID in New Jersey is valid for 24 months following its issue. When it comes time to renew, your evaluation will be as quick and easy as the first time!

Extended Hours

We know many of our customers have busy schedules. That's why we've extended our hours for New Jersey patients from 8AM - 10PM every single day. Now, you'll never have to worry about finding time for your doctor's appointment.

Ensured Privacy

With NuggMD, your records are guaranteed to be private, safe, and are completely protected by both HIPAA and New Jersey law.

Secure Payment

We accept credit cards from every major bank in the U.S. You'll only need to pay if you've been approved for medicinal use.

Quick Certification

You don't have to wait long for your MMJ recommendation to be delivered to you. 24-48 hours after your medical evaluation, a PDF copy of your recommendation will be delivered via email.

World-Class Service

NuggMD is equipped with a world-class customer service team that's primed and ready to provide any assistance you may need throughout the evaluation or application process. Their mission is to make you smile.

GET YOUR CARD

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in New Jersey

1. START YOUR NEW ACCOUNT

Using NuggMD, you can be connected with a state-licensed marijuana doctor in New Jersey. Just take our questionnaire for new patients to get started.

2. TALK TO YOUR NEW MMJ DOCTOR

NuggMD's practitioners are highly educated about medical marijuana and empathetic to your needs. During your evaluation, you can ask as many questions as you like. Be sure to go over your current medications!

3. GET YOUR EMAIL CERTIFICATION

You'll be sent a PDF of your medical certification within 24-48 hours of your initial evaluation. That means you can register with the New Jersey MMJ program and become a medical patient in no time!

4. REGISTER WITH THE STATE

After you've been recommended for medical use and gather up all the necessary documents, you can apply to become a patient on the New Jersey Department of Health website.

5. WAIT FOR YOUR STATE CARD

The state of New Jersey may take up to 10-14 days to process your MMJ application and mail your ID. So, why wait to get your evaluation? Hop on NuggMD today to become a medical patient as soon as you can!

6. BUY YOUR MEDICINE

As soon as your New Jersey MMJ ID comes in the mail, you can officially purchase medical marijuana and medical marijuana products at any dispensary located in the state of New Jersey.
GET YOUR CARD

About Medical Marijuana in New Jersey

In the early 2010s, New Jersey police were making more cannabis-related arrests than they were in the past two decades. Despite a national trend of decreasing marijuana arrests, New Jersey seemed poised to increase its prosecution of cannabis crimes. Then, in 2017, New Jersey made more marijuana arrests than any other state in the country. As a result, several cannabis coalitions and advocacy groups pushed the legalization effort in the state of New Jersey. 

New Jersey legalized medical marijuana in 2010, when Governor Jon Corzine signed the Compassionate Use of Medical Marijuana Act on his final day of office. But enrollment in the program has been low, largely because of the rigidity of the state's regulations. In fact, of all the medically legalized states, New Jersey is said to have the least progressive and strictest program. New Jersey patients find that there aren't many qualified physicians willing to conduct MMJ evaluations, nor are there many dispensaries located throughout the state. 

Despite these limitations, New Jersey continues to license hundreds of new patients and caregivers every year. Additional qualifying medical conditions have also been continuously added to the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program's (NJMMP) list, despite some political pushback. After Governor Chris Christie left office in 2018, the effort to fully legalize marijuana had intensified. After some legislative failures to pass a full legalization bill, both the state Assembly and Senate passed a proposal to place the question of full legalization on the 2020 ballot, where New Jersey voters will go on to make the ultimate decision.

How to Become a Medical Marijuana Patient in New Jersey

You can become a medical marijuana patient in New Jersey in just a couple easy steps.

First, See a New Jersey Medical Marijuana Doctor
You'll need to be evaluated by a state-licensed medical doctor. If they determine that you are currently suffering from one of the NJMMP's qualifying conditions (see FAQ below for list of conditions), they will dispense an MMJ recommendation to you. The information on this recommendation will be necessary to register with the state program.

During this appointment, your doctor will also ask you to designate a specific dispensary within the state, as the NJMMP only allows its patients to register with a single dispensary at a time.

Register with the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program
Using the information found on your MMJ recommendation, you then need to fill out a registration with the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program (NJMMP). To register you first must:

  • Complete the NJMMP online registration form
  • Provide an acceptable photograph given the NJMMP guidelines
  • Provide a New Jersey issued ID, and/or two forms of proof of residency
  • Pay the associated registration fee of $100

What documents are necessary to fill out the New Jersey Department of Health MMJ application?

To register, patients will need the following:

  • A photograph from the last 60 days that has been taken against a plain, white background with a full-face view. Patients should be directly facing the camera. No photo filters will be permitted.
  • Valid photo ID issued by the state of New Jersey such as a current New Jersey Driver's License or a New Jersey County ID with the name and address of the patient.

If the patient's photo ID in question has expired or does not include your most current physical address, patients can instead present two forms of proof of New Jersey residency.

How to Become an MMJ Caregiver in New Jersey

Becoming a caregiver in New Jersey is not all that different from becoming a medical patient. If the designated caregiver is not an immediate family member of the medical patient in question, New Jersey law requires them to undergo a criminal background test before their caregiver registration can be processed.

The background check can be done with a service called IdentoGo, which conducts the collection of the applicant's fingerprints. After the background check has been cleared, caregiver applicants must pay the associated fee of $100 for their MMJ ID card.

More About New Jersey

Due east of the Delaware River and the state of Pennsylvania is the mid-Atlantic state of New Jersey. New Jersey is the fourth-smallest state by area, but the 11th most populated with almost 9 million residents and 9 million square miles. The state derives its name from the English who seized the area from the Dutch and the Swedish in the 17th century. They decided to name their new colony, New Jersey, after the Bailiwick of Jersey, one of the Channel Islands located near Normandy, France. Being one of the Thirteen American Colonies that declared its independence from the British Crown, New Jersey was the site of several consequential battles and events in the Revolutionary War. The most notable of which were the Battles of Trenton and Princeton.

New Jersey is one of the wealthiest states by median income. As such, it's home to many popular tourist attractions and landmarks. One of the most notable New Jersey attractions is Atlantic City, which houses some world-famous casinos and hotels such as the Borgata, the Hard Rock Hotel, Ocean City Resort, Wild Wild West Casino, along with the Atlantic City Boardwalk, Central Pier Arcade, and Steel Pier. Liberty State Park, the George Washington Bridge, Cape May Lighthouse, Turtle Back Zoo, Absecon Lighthouse, Kingda Ka (North America's tallest roller coaster), the Thomas Edison National Historical Park, Newark Museum of Art, and the Pine Barrens all call New Jersey their home.

New Jersey is one of the U.S. states to have legalized medical marijuana. However, the MMJ legislation has been controversial with politicians and residents alike. As a result, New Jersey has some of the strictest regulations for medical marijuana, and few dispensaries have opened as of now. Nevertheless, more are scheduled to open as time goes on, and enrollment in New Jersey's medical marijuana program increases. Those New Jersey residents who qualify for the use of medicinal cannabis can rely on NuggMD to help them along every step of the way. So what are you waiting for? Log on to NuggMD today!

Frequently Asked Questions About Medical Marijuana in
New Jersey

How much is an MMJ evaluation in New Jersey

A medical marijuana evaluation for the state of New Jersey using NuggMD only costs $139!

What are the qualifying medical marijuana conditions in New Jersey?

The New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program lists several different medical conditions that legally qualify for treatments with medicinal cannabis. These are:

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Chronic Pain
  • Glaucoma
  • Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn's disease
  • Dysmenorrhea
  • Intractable skeletal spasticity
  • Migraine
  • Opioid Use Disorder
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • HIV/AIDS
  • PTSD
  • Seizure disorders, including epilepsy
  • Terminal illness with a prognosis of fewer than 12 months to live
  • Tourette syndrome

How much does the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program Application Fee Cost?

The New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program Application fee is $100 for both patients and caregivers. Those applicants who are senior citizens, military veterans, or who qualify for the following New Jersey state and federal assistance programs can pay the discounted price of $20:

  • NJ Medicaid Program
  • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
  • NJ Temporary Disability Insurance Benefits
  • Supplemental Security Income Benefits
  • Social Security Disability Benefits

When does my New Jersey medical marijuana ID expire?

Medical Marijuana IDs are valid for 2 years after their issue date.

Do I have to fill out a registration to become a medical marijuana patient in New Jersey?

Yes. Before becoming an MMJ patient, you must first fill out the patient registration with the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program (NJMMP). You can do so on the NJMMP site, here.

Can I still be fired for testing positive for cannabis on a drug test?

The Medical Marijuana Legislation in New Jersey does not give medical marijuana patients the right to ignore their workplace's drug testing policies. If you test positive for cannabis at a company with a drug-free workplace, you may still be fired despite your status as a medical patient. Be sure you become familiar with your employer's workplace drug policies before using medical marijuana.

Does New Jersey provide patients with a temporary ID card before sending the permanent in the mail?

No, New Jersey will not issue patients a temporary ID. Patients must wait the 7-10 for the MMJ ID to come in the mail.

Will I be on a government list?

New Jersey medical marijuana patients do not need to worry about being put on government lists after becoming MMJ patients. The only record of your being a medical marijuana patient will be with the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program and the Department of Health.

Can I register for the medical marijuana program without a New Jersey ID?

If you do not have a New Jersey ID, you will have to submit two forms of proof of New Jersey residency with your current physical address listed. The following forms of proof of residency are accepted by the NJMMP:

  • Utility Bill from the last 90 days (electric, water, gas, sewer, landline telephone, cell phone, TV, cable, or internet)
  • Mail received from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) or the New Jersey Division of Taxation from the past year (must have your current physical address listed upon the correspondence.) *Be aware: The NJMMP will not accept a Form 1040 or Form 1095 as a proof of residency.
  • Federal, State, or local government mail delivered to the patient in the last 90 days preceding the date of the application (Social Security Administration (SSA) forms, jury duty summons or forms issued by a court, property tax forms)
  • Bank statements issued for each of the past three months before the date of the application, showing both the applicants' name and address *Be aware: the NJMMP will require you to submit this in the form of 3 statements scanned into a single PDF.

Does NuggMD have a refund policy?

The terms of our refund policy are the following: customers will be entitled to and receive a full refund if their medical marijuana recommendation forms are not delivered to them within 30 days following their MMJ evaluation. All you need to do prior is email our customer service team at support@getnugg.com with “refund request” in the subject line, along with a short description of your particular problem. Here at NuggMD, we never stop working to guarantee that our users are 100% satisfied after using our service, or we'll give them their money back. However, just keep in mind that after we've processed your refund, we are legally obligated to deactivate all your authorizations for medicinal cannabis. Afterward, you'll no longer be able to legally purchase or use medical marijuana. Please allow us 3-5 days to process your refund and transfer your funds back into your account. Don't be afraid to contact our customer service team should you need any additional help.

What are the legal limits for the possession of medical marijuana in New Jersey?

The NJMMP requires that all medical marijuana that is sold in the state must be packaged in either 1/4 or 1/8 ounce units. The patient's particular MMJ health care provider will decide on the precise dosage; however, the maximum amount currently allowed to be possessed by New Jersey law is 3 ounces in 30 days. However, if a patient is terminally ill, they can possess an unlimited amount of medical marijuana.

How do I become a New Jersey caregiver?

Becoming a caregiver in New Jersey is as simple as registering with the NJMMP. However, if you are not an immediate family member of the designated patient, you must first undergo a criminal background check through your fingerprints. A printable form is available on the NJMMP website with information on how to make an appointment with IdentoGo, the service required by the state of New Jersey, to have your fingerprints collected. Then, caregivers must pay the registration fee associated with their MMP identification cards. But, since a background check is required before the registration, the fees will not be collected until the caregiver's criminal background check is processed and approved by the NJMMP. This can take up to three weeks.

How long does it take for the New Jersey medical marijuana application to process?

It may take anywhere from 1-3 weeks for the NJMMP to process your MMJ application and mail your medical ID. However, in most cases, it will only take 7-10 for your application to be processed and your ID to be mailed.

Does New Jersey allow marijuana delivery?

As of now, dispensaries in New Jersey are not delivering medical marijuana. That doesn't mean, however, that the state is not allowing it. In fact, as of June 2020, 4 dispensaries are awaiting approval from the NJMMP to allow delivery services.

Can I use my out-of-state marijuana card in New Jersey?

As of now, New Jersey does not allow out-of-state marijuana cards to be used in New Jersey. However, there are plans to form an additional medical marijuana commission that will allow out-of-state MMJ IDS to be used within New Jersey.

Where can New Jersey medical marijuana patients smoke cannabis?

According to the state of New Jersey, a patient smoking medicinal marijuana is considered "smoking" as outlined in the Smoke Free Air Act. As such, the guidelines of the Smoke Free Air Act apply to medical marijuana smokers.

Patients may not smoke medicinal marijuana on a school bus or any other form of public transportation; in a private vehicle unless the vehicle is not currently operating; on any school grounds, in any correctional facility, at any public park or beach, at any recreation center or any area according to N.J.S.A. 2C:33-13.

Patients also may not operate, navigate, or be in control of any vehicle, aircraft, railroad train, or stationary heavy equipment vessel while under the influence of marijuana.

Are patients out on parole allowed to use medicinal marijuana in New Jersey?

Those qualifying patients who are on parole and probation do not have any explicit restrictions in the New Jersey medical marijuana law. However, patients should first consult with their probation officers regarding the specific stipulations laid out in their sentencing agreement. In some cases, parolees or patients on probation are told that using cannabis, even if medically licensed, is a violation of their parole/probation agreement. Be sure to consult with your P.O. before using medical marijuana.

Does the New Jersey medical marijuana law protect parents who use medical marijuana?

Some states include specific protections for those medical marijuana patients with children regarding how their use of medicinal cannabis is to be treated by the family courts in custody hearings. However, New Jersey's Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act does not include such protections.

Is there a program in New Jersey to provide free, discounted, or subsidized cannabis for those patients in need?

As of this time, there is no such program for New Jersey patients beyond the discounted registration fee for those who qualify.

Is there a sales tax on cannabis products?

As of 2020, yes, there is a state sales tax on cannabis products. Initially, this was set at 6.625%. However, it was cut to 4% on July 1st. It will be cut again to 2% the following year, before being eliminated entirely in 2022. Nevertheless, local municipalities are still able to charge a 2% transfer fee on transactions within their town borders.

GET YOUR CARD

99% of Oklahoma Patients Recommend NuggMD

First time that I have ever tried to get a medical marijuana card and I'm so glad that I went through NuggMD.. It was very fast and everyone was so helpful, the doctor and staff were very nice and understood what I was going through. Quick and easy, and I was approved in less than 24 hours once I uploaded the right paperwork. I will definitely be recommending them to anyone I talk to who is looking to get their medical marijuana card.

RJ Irelan
Sylvania, OH

This was such a simple process. Fill out the application and you get in line to have a quick (And I mean very quick - under 5 minutes) chat with the doctor. My wait was just over 5 minutes for the doctor. Soooo much better than going into a doctors office where you are waiting hours and hours.

Rachel Munoz
Oklahoma City, OK

The whole process start to finish took less than 30 minutes. Was super simple and the Doctor was very friendly and understanding. Got my approval and my certificate within a few hours. Very affordable much less than everyone else. Sent all my friends the web link!!

Candi Engle
Kansas City, MO

Getting my license was a very big step for me so finding this site was a blessing.  Signing up was easy and the virtual visit was very nice and pleasant. The Dr was very nice and understanding. I got my approval really quickly and was able to apply with state the next afternoon. All in all a really good experience.

Donna Taylor
Oklahoma City, OK

NuggMD was the easiest online experience I've ever had. The process was quick, easy, and was processed just as quickly. The doctor I spoke with was super nice and gave clear direction on how to set everything up. And their customer service was quick - Their customer success director Freddy wants to make sure you're taken care of and will reach out directly to do so. So far everyone I've worked with and the whole experience has been great. Would recommend

Aaron Trexler
Sylvania, OH
GET YOUR CARD

Protected Payments & Privacy