Speak with a Medical
Marijuana Doctor in New Mexico

Bummer! NuggMD doctors aren’t yet able to issue medical marijuana cards in New Mexico.

Not to worry though, we’ll be the first to offer online cannabis evaluations once New Mexico allows them. Click below to join our waitlist and receive a discount once our services are available!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Explore

Select Your State to Get Started

Select Your State to
Get Started

The #1 Medical Marijuana Platform in the World
With Over 600,000 Patients Served

The #1 Medical Marijuana
Platform in the World
With Over 600,000
Patients Served

Loved by journalists, celebrities, and grandmothers alike...

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in New Mexico

It just takes a few simple steps to become a medical marijuana patient in New Mexico:

1) Find out if you have a qualifying condition. In New Mexico, there are 28 MMJ qualifying conditions. You can find a list of these conditions in the FAQ section below.

2) See your doctor for an evaluation. If your own doctor does not approve of medical marijuana or isn't willing to discuss the issue with you, there are clinics that specialize in these evaluations.

3) Have your doctor fill out your Medical Certification Form, which you can find in your New and Returning Medical Cannabis Patient Application.

4) Register with the MMJ program online and submit your application along with:
* Your signature
* A signature from a state-certified provider that diagnosed you with one or more of the state's qualifying conditions
* A copy of your New Mexico ID 

5) Wait for the state to process your application. Applications may take up to 30 days for review. Allow five days before checking on the status of your application. Cards remain valid for three years once approved. 

Required fee: There is no fee for applying, but there is a $50 replacement fee. 

Caregiver registration: Caregiver applicants must pass a nationwide background check and have a valid New Mexico ID. 

Personal cultivation licensing: Patients and caregivers who wish to cultivate their own must pay a $30 fee unless they qualify for a price reduction under federal poverty guidelines. Be sure to follow local cultivation limits and rules!

1. SIGN UP

Fill out a short, online confidential form which we'll send to one of NuggMD's available doctors for review.

About Medical Marijuana in New Mexico

New Mexico passed the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act in March 2007, making it the 12th state to legalize medical cannabis. Signed into law by then-Governor Bill Richardson, the bill expanded on a 1978 law passed by the state allowing medical use. However, use was limited to patients approved for a federal research program, the first of its kind at the time. 

The state's program is run by the New Mexico Medical Cannabis Program (MCP), which aims to provide approved patients with a regulated cannabis treatment option. Licensed non-profit producers provide the state with its medical marijuana. An approved patient or caregiver may also obtain a Personal Production License (PPL). 

Since its launch, New Mexico officials have allowed for expanding the state's qualifying conditions on several occasions. The state's Medical Cannabis Advisory Board of nine physicians convenes twice each year for public meetings where citizens get the opportunity to petition for additional conditions to be included on the list. 

The state continues to expand access for its citizens and those visiting New Mexico. On February 21, 2020, Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham signed Senate Bill 139 into law, ensuring the program's rules remain reserved for citizens and reciprocate to patients enrolled in another state program. The law took immediate effect. Out-of-state patients that previously received New Mexico medical cards are not permitted to renew their cards upon expiration.

More About New Mexico

New Mexico is a state of breathtaking nature and a vibrant culture found in the cities that make up The Land of Enchantment. 
Head to New Mexico for an authentic American Southwest experience. Cultures blend in cities like Santa Fe, Albuquerque and Taos--where Native American, Hispanic and Anglo heritage continue to shape communities through food, art and so much more. 

Television fans might be particularly interested in the state capital, Albuquerque. It is home to the classic series Breaking Bad and several famous film locations. Heads up: don't throw a pizza on the roof

Sci-fi fans are likely already aware of Roswell. While it may be regarded as a town on the rise for various reasons, its first national claim to fame remains its most famous: the alien crash site

Away from the cities lie some of the country's most natural wonders. They include two national parks: Carlsbad Caverns and its numerous caves and rock formations and White Sands, featuring seemingly endless acres of white sand. New Mexico is the proud home to several national monuments as well, including Bandelier, Petroglyph and the Gila Cliff Dwellings.

Frequently Asked Questions
About Medical Marijuana in New Mexico

Who can get a medical marijuana card in New Mexico?

Any person living with a state-approved qualified condition can apply for the program. A recommendation from a physician must confirm your medical status. Patients under 18 must have a Caregiver designated. 

In February 2020, the state expanded its coverage to reciprocate to patients approved in other state markets.

What are the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in New Mexico?

Here is the list in full:

  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder
  • Crohn's Disease
  • Cancer
  • Damage to the Nervous Tissue of the Spinal Cord (with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity)
  • Friedreich's Ataxia
  • Epilepsy/Seizure Disorder
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C Infection currently receiving antiviral therapy
  • Huntington’s disease
  • Hospice Care
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Intractable Nausea/Vomiting
  • Inflammatory Autoimmune-mediated Arthritis
  • Inclusion Body Myositis
  • Lewy Body Disease
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Opioid Use Disorder
  • Obstructive Sleep Apnea
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Painful Peripheral Neuropathy
  • Severe Anorexia/Cachexia
  • Spinal Muscular Atrophy
  • Spasmodic Torticollis (Cervical Dystonia)
  • Severe Chronic Pain
  • Ulcerative Colitis

How do I apply for a card in New Mexico?

You can apply for your medical marijuana card by filling out an application provided by the state. A completed application includes:
* All the personal and medical information requested 
* Your signature
* A signed recommendation from a state-approved physician
* A valid state-issued ID
Minors and others in need of a caregiver can apply for their approval during this process as well.

How long does it take to get an MMJ card in New Mexico?

Applications may take up to 30 days for the Department to review. They ask that you allow for at least five days before checking on the status of your application.

How does New Mexico process applications so patients can access dispensaries?

The state's Public Health Accreditation Board ensures that each application is reviewed on a medical and administrative level to verify all the information is provided. As such, it recommends that expiring cardholders apply 45 to 60 days before their cards end date to avoid any lapses in coverage. Applications can be renewed with 90 or less days on the current card.

​​Who may act as a grower in New Mexico?

State licensed providers can supply dispensaries with products. A patient or their caregiver may also act as a grower for their own needs. To be an approved cultivator, you must apply for a separate Personal Production License (PPL). Applications come with a $30 license fee, with waivers for those that qualify under federal poverty guidelines.

How much does it cost to register as a cardholder in New Mexico?

There is no charge to apply for a medical cannabis card. There is a $50 replacement card fee and a $30 fee for PPL applications.

How much marijuana can an MMJ patient purchase and possess in New Mexico?

Patients can have up to 230 "units" of cannabis flower or derived products over 90 days. The state defines a "unit" as 1 gram of dried flower. It uses the same measurement to denote 200 milligrams of edibles, tinctures and topicals.

Does New Mexico recognize out-of-state recommendations?

Yes, legislation signed in February 2020 ensures that in-state and certified out-of-state patients can have the same cannabis rights while in the state.

Can I give my medical cannabis to someone else in New Mexico?

Yes, patients and caregivers have permission to transfer up to two ounces of cannabis to another patient or caregiver. Selling is prohibited.

Protected Payments & Privacy

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.