Speak with a Medical
Cannabis Doctor in Ohio

Shoot! NuggMD doctors can’t recommend medical marijuana cards in Ohio at this time.

No worries, our team of dedicated professionals will make sure that you are first to know when we come to Ohio! Join the waitlist by clicking the link down below. Doing so will keep you up to date on the news. Plus, you’ll get a discount once NuggMD is available in Ohio!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Select Your State to Get Started

Select Your State to
Get Started

The #1 Medical Marijuana Platform in the World
With Over 600,000 Patients Served

The #1 Medical Marijuana
Platform in the World
With Over 600,000
Patients Served

Loved by journalists, celebrities, and grandmothers alike...

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Ohio

Prospective patients must follow a straightforward three-step process to get a medical marijuana card in Ohio:


Fill out a short, online confidential form which we'll send to one of NuggMD's available doctors for review.
  • See a Doctor.
  • Get a recommendation.
  • Register with the state.

The first step requires applicants to visit an Ohio state-certified physician. Your doctor will assess if you meet the criteria according to the qualifying conditions approved by the state. You can find a complete list of Ohio's qualifying conditions in the FAQ section below. 

If approved, applicants will receive an email prompting them to register with the state's patient registry. They have 90 days from receiving the email to complete the registration process. A $50 patient payment is due upon registration, with caregivers paying $25. The same cost applies to renewals. 

Indigent and Veteran applicants may apply to have their fees waived and should not register until their status has been confirmed. Otherwise, they risk paying the registration costs.

After registering, patients can purchase cannabis from a state-licensed dispensary. Patients must have an active medical cannabis card, physician recommendation and government ID to make purchases. 

About Medical Marijuana in Ohio

Ohio legalized medical cannabis in June 2016 when Governor John Kasich signed off on HB 523. The state allowed for a two-year window to establish the program, allowing qualified patients to travel to Michigan in the interim to obtain their medicine legally. Sales officially began in-state in January 2019.

The passage of medical marijuana laws follows a decades-long legalization battle. In 1975, Ohio decriminalized possession of up to 100 grams of cannabis. In 2015, voters failed to pass a measure which would have legalized adult use cannabis laws.

Ohio's cities and municipalities have continued to revise local ordinances in recent years. Such efforts saw penalties for possession reduced to $10 in specific towns, while several cities passed decriminalization measures of their own.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, Ohio lawmakers approved precautionary measures for consumers and dispensary staff. Allowances include placing phone orders and curbside pick-up at dispensaries.

Frequently Asked Questions
About Medical Marijuana in Ohio

How do I contact Ohio’s medical cannabis program?


Is there a list of qualified conditions?

Yes. The current list of qualifying conditions are as followed:

  • AIDS
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) 
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Cancer
  • Chronic traumatic encephalopathy
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Epilepsy or another seizure disorder
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • Inflammatory bowel disease (IBS) 
  • Multiple sclerosis (MS) 
  • Pain that is either chronic and severe or intractable
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Positive status for HIV
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Sickle cell anemia
  • Spinal cord disease or injury
  • Tourette’s syndrome
  • Traumatic brain injury
  • Ulcerative colitis

How long does my Ohio MMJ certification last?

Patient and caregiver registrations are valid for one year from the date the state issued the ID. Terminally ill patient registrations last for six months.

How much does my Ohio medical marijuana certification cost?

Patient registrations cost $50, with caregivers paying $25. Patients who qualify for Indigent or Veteran can apply to have their fees waived.

How long does it take for Ohio to process my medical marijuana application?

The state Department of Public Health has up to 30 business days to review an application. If approved, the DPH has 15 business days to issue the patient their ID.

What types of medical marijuana products are available in Ohio?

Ohio allows patients to purchase and use flower, pills, edibles, concentrates, tinctures and oils.

Do I really need a medical marijuana card in Ohio?

Yes, the state of Ohio requires all patients and caregivers to have an active registration to comply with the state marketplace. All other activity is deemed illegal.

Can I smoke marijuana in public in Ohio?

No. Public consumption remains against the law.

Can I grow my medical marijuana in Ohio?

No, only state-licensed growers are allowed to cultivate medical cannabis in Ohio.

Can I purchase cannabis in Ohio with a card from another state?

No, the state does not recognize out-of-state ID cards.

Do I have to be a resident of Ohio to join the medical marijuana program?

Yes, you must be a resident of Ohio to get a medical marijuana card from the state.

Protected Payments & Privacy

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.