If you can verify your residence, then follow the below as next steps:
Rhode Island residents have been eligible to apply for a medical marijuana card under the Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act since 2006.
The purpose of the program is to protect medical marijuana patients, allowing them to treat their conditions with legal cannabis in a safe manner, protected from arrest or prosecution.
In 2017, the Rhode Island Supreme Court determined that one's employer could not impede an employee's legal medical marijuana use, protecting their employment status and right to medicate.
Currently, the Rhode Island Department of Health does not manage referrals. However, you can search for doctors that may be accepting new patients online by clicking here.
Here is the list in full:
Yes, Rhode Island allows patients to assign one caregiver who is at least 21 years old. Approved caregivers can provide assistance to up to five patients at any time.
Currently, a Medical Marijuana Patient can purchase up to 2.5 ounces from licensed compassion centers. A Medical Marijuana Patient can buy 2.5 ounces every 15 days.
You can acquire a new medical marijuana card by going to the Medical Marijuana Program office (Room 105A) at the Rhode Island Department of Health. The hours are 1:00 and 3:00 pm. You will need a current Rhode Island Driver's License or State ID. There is a $10 replacement fee, which can be paid via a check or money order.
You can update the address on your Medical Marijuana Card by submitting a $10 check or money order, proof of your new address, and the Rhode Island Department of Health address change form. A copy of the document is located here.
The Rhode Island Department of Health accepts check or money order, including its $50 patient fee associated with the application for a medical marijuana card. Be sure to make checks and money orders out to the Rhode Island General Treasurer.
Your medical marijuana card will expire one year from its issuance. You should receive a renewal form approximately 30 to 60 days before your medical marijuana card expires. If you do not receive this form and your medical cannabis ID expires, you can request a renewal form from The Rhode Island Department of Health. You ask for the form by emailing email@example.com. Renewal form requests cannot be submitted online.
You can submit a new practitioner certification form, which can be found on the state's website.
Yes, medical marijuana patients from other states can purchase medical marijuana in Rhode Island under its reciprocity laws. Keep in mind that you will be required to provide proof of an active medical cannabis certification from your home state.
You can purchase medical marijuana at Compassion Centers. There are currently three compassion centers in Rhode Island. They are:
Greenleaf Compassionate Care Center (Portsmouth)
Thomas C. Slater Compassion Center (Providence)
Summit Medical Compassion Center (Warwick)
You should consume your medical cannabis in a private location, as it is illegal to do so in a public space. A suitable location includes homes or private residences.