Oregon Cannabis Laws & Regulations

Oregon medical marijuana laws
Updated March 1st, 2023

Weed Laws in Oregon

Oregon abounds with natural beauty. The state's rich forests give way to a breathtaking stretch of Pacific coastline. Oregon features everything from the desert highlands of Bend Whitewater Park and Lake Billy to the towering Mt. Hood. In the south, you can visit the magnificent Crater Lake or the Summer Lake Hot Springs. If you’re feeling more adventurous, you can even explore the Oregon Caves National Monument.

Oregon isn’t just natural attractions, though. There’s plenty to do along the state’s 363 miles of Pacific coastline. Oregon Willamette Valley is famous for its vineyards, and there’s always something to do in Portland, especially if you’re drawn to culture and the arts.

Oregon was one of the first states to legalize medical marijuana in 1998, only two short years after California blazed that trail. The Beaver State was also one of the first to legalize adult-use cannabis in 2014. 

Oregon medical marijuana laws

Is Weed Legal in Oregon ?

YES. Adults aged 21 and over can legally take marijuana for medicinal or recreational use in the state of Oregon.

Weed Legalization in Oregon

Oregon became the first state to decriminalize cannabis in 1973, making possession of up to 1 ounce of cannabis a minor violation punishable by just a small fine.

Though there were several attempts to legalize cannabis in Oregon over the years, including one as early as 1986, the state made its first real move toward legalization in 1998, when it legalized medical cannabis via Oregon Measure 67.

After an unsuccessful attempt to legalize adult-use recreational cannabis in 2012, Oregon voters passed Oregon Measure 91 in 2014, legalizing adult-use cannabis in the state. Adult-use cannabis sales began in the later part of 2015 in Oregon. At present, the state is home to a thriving adult-use market.

As of 2023, the consumption of cannabis is legal medicinal and recreational use in the state of Oregon.

Get Your Medical Card Online Get approved today in minutes with the nation's #1 trusted medical card provider.
No appointment needed. Only billed if approved.

Cannabis Tax in Oregon

Adults aged 21 and above can purchase cannabis from state-licensed dispensaries. Adults aged 18 and above with a valid Oregon medical marijuana card can purchase cannabis from state-licensed medical dispensaries.

The states levies a 20% tax on marijuana purchases, which covers:

  • Excise tax - 17%
  • Local business taxes at the town or city level - 3%

The State of Oregon does not charge a sales tax on medical marijuana.

According to Oregon Measure 110, tax revenue collected from the cannabis industry will be distributed as follows:

  • 40% goes to the State School Fund.
  • 20% goes to the Oregon Health Authority for mental health and drug abuse prevention.
  • 15% goes to the state police.
  • 10% goes to Oregon’s cities.
  • 10% goes to the counties.
  • 5% goes to the Oregon Health Authority for drug abuse prevention, early intervention, and treatment.

If the amount of tax revenue exceeds $11.25 million in a given quarter, the excess amount is allocated to the Drug Treatment and Recovery Services Fund.

Is Cannabis Delivery Available in Oregon?

YES. Adults aged 21 and over can legally order marijuana delivery for medicinal or recreational use in the state of Oregon.

Where Can You Legally Use Weed in Oregon?

Cannabis can be legally used in the following areas in Oregon:

🗹 Private properties such as residences

Cannabis CANNOT be consumed in:

X Public spaces

X Businesses that lack a license for commercial cannabis consumption*

X Motorized vehicles in motion, for both driver and passengers

X Federal land, like national parks

*Cannabis smoking and vaping lounges are no longer allowed after Oregon’s Indoor Clean Air Act was amended to include vaporization and marijuana. 

What are the Restrictions on Cannabis Possession in Oregon?

Adults aged 21 and above may purchase and possess up to:

  • Cannabis:  2 ounces / 56.70 grams*
  • Cannabis concentrates: 1 ounces / 28.35 grams (must be purchased at a dispensary)

*Increased from 1 ounce on Jan 1, 2022. The changes also increased edible concentration limits from 50mg THC to 100mg THC per package. (Source: Statesman Journal)

Adults in Oregon can store at home:

  • Cannabis:  8 ounces / 226.8 grams
  • Cannabis concentrates: 1 ounces / 28.35 grams

For transfer to another adult:

  • Dried cannabis:  1 ounces / 28.35 grams
  • Cannabis concentrates: 1 ounces / 28.35 grams

For the state’s home cultivation program:

  • Maximum # of plants for recreational consumers: 4
  • Maximum # of plants for medical cannabis patients: 6

For medicinal use:

  • Dried cannabis:  24 ounces / 680.39 grams
  • Cannabis concentrates: 16 ounces / 453.59 grams

During vehicular transportation:

  • Cannabis may either be in a sealed container, or
  • Stored in the trunk of the vehicle
Get Your Medical Card Online Get approved today in minutes with the nation's #1 trusted medical card provider.
No appointment needed. Only billed if approved.

Frequently Asked Questions About Marijuana in Oregon

Who can get a medical marijuana card in Oregon?

Anyone over the age of 18 with a qualifying condition can see a licensed physician to receive an Oregon medical marijuana card.

What are the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Oregon?

In order to qualify for medical marijuana in Oregon, you need to have one of the following conditions: cancer, glaucoma, a degenerative or pervasive neurological disorder, HIV, PTSD, cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, persistent muscle spasms, or MS.

Who can recommend medical marijuana in Oregon?

In Oregon, a medical doctor, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, certified registered nurse anesthetist, or naturopathic physician can recommend medical marijuana, as long as they’re licensed under the ORS.

How long does it take to get a medical marijuana card in Oregon?

As soon as you submit your application, you’ll receive a 30-day receipt letter which will act as a temporary ID while your application is being processed. Somewhere within those 30 days, you should receive your permanent ID. If there is an issue with your application, you will have 14 days to revise it. If you don’t submit your revised application within that 14-day period, the application will be rejected.

Who does Oregon allow to be a medical marijuana grower?

All Oregon medical marijuana patients can grow their own medical marijuana. Patients can also designate someone over the age of 21 to be their grower. Unlike medical cannabis patients, growers need to pass a criminal background check going back to January 1, 2006. If you have a violation, you’ll need to wait two years from the date of the offense to qualify as a medical marijuana grower. Anyone with more than two offenses is prohibited from being a grower.

What does it cost to register for a medical marijuana card in Oregon?

Oregon charges $200 for a medical marijuana registration, but the state offers discounts to certain groups. Individuals receiving SNAP benefits can register for $60. Individuals with Oregon Health Plan eligibility pay $50. And Armed Forces veterans and people who receive Supplemental Security Income benefits are only charged $20.

The information in this article and any included images or charts are for educational purposes only. This information is neither a substitute for, nor does it replace, professional legal advice or medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. If you have any concerns or questions about laws, regulations, or your health, you should always consult with an attorney, physician or other licensed professional.

Successful team

The NuggMD Promise

We are a team of cannabis and technology professionals focused on connecting you with state-licensed doctors. We believe all people deserve access to medical cannabis if they think it might improve their quality of life. Since our founding in 2015, we’ve held ourselves and our partners to the highest standards to ensure every patient we serve is able to access reliable cannabis information, trustworthy medical practitioners, and proactive updates on the cannabis healthcare ecosystem and legislation that may affect their experience as a medical cannabis patient.

Whether you’re a cannabis connoisseur or thinking of becoming a first-time medical marijuana patient, our network of doctors will listen to your needs and give you an honest opinion about whether they think cannabis can help.

Billed only if approved.