The Oregon Medical Marijuana Program came about after Ballot Measure 67 in 1998, with over 54% of voters supporting the measure. The passage of the ballot initiative made Oregon the second state to pass medical cannabis laws after California was the first to do so in 1996.
The law augmented previous rules, allowing growing, possession and consumption of cannabis for medical purposes if recommended by a doctor. Attempts to expand the program have occurred. Notably, in 2004, another ballot initiative aimed to increase patient possession maximums to a total of six pounds. The ballot question failed to pass.
Another medical cannabis-focused ballot initiative was introduced in 2010, with a focus on revamping several areas of the market. The initiative aimed to allow dispensaries to sell medical marijuana to patients, provide assistance to low-income individuals, and regulate additional areas of the market, including licensing and research.
The medical market has continued to see its patient number dwindle over the years. The trend is rather common in states where adult use legislation is enacted. Recreational use often takes a significant chunk out of medical enrollment due to its ease of access and lacking of licensing hurdles to clear.
In recent years, efforts have been discussed to revive the medical market's prominence, but no concrete plans have emerged as of yet.
Oregon bills itself as a place that is 100% real, but may leave you wondering if that truly is the case. That is because the majesty and wonder offered by the state's lush nature filled with greenery, majestic coastlines and so much to take in that it is nearly impossible to achieve. Whether taking to the road, getting into the forest or taking in the vibrant arts and culture, Oregon has something for everyone, and we haven't even gotten to the medical marijuana market.
Boasting seven regions to visit, Oregon has a lot to take in across its 360 mile long borders. You can visit the state's central portion for activities in the desert highlands around Lake Billy and Bend Whitewater Park. To the east are where landscapes and history converge at destinations, including the Painted Hills and Wallowa Lake. Marvel at the mighty mountains like Mt. Hood and the Columbia River Gorge, which makes up its own region. And to the south, you can find a combination of arts, culture and natural beauty at sites such as Crater Lake, Summer Lake Hot Springs and the Oregon Caves National Monument.
Be sure to visit other popular regions of the state, including Oregon's 363 miles of Pacific coastline, Willamette Valley's vineyards and farms, as well as the city that asks that everyone keep it weird, Portland.
Those wishing to apply for a medical cannabis card in Oregon must have a condition on the state's qualifying conditions list, as well as a recommendation from an attending physician to verify.
Out of state reciprocity is allowed in Oregon. Interested visitors are advised to consult Oregon state rules before visiting.
Here is the list in full:
Those submitting a completed application will receive a 30-day receipt letter, which acts as a registry ID for the allotted period. The receipt provides you the same legal rights as an ID card. You will receive your permanent card via the mail.
Incomplete applications have 14 days to revise their application with steps from the OMMP. Applications not submitted during the 14-day window will be rejected.
The state asks that applicants not call about their application until after the 30-day evaluation period.
The OMMP treats applications equally, aiming to process them as efficiently as possible. In the meantime, the state permits patent applicants to use their 30-day receipt. However, caregivers and growers do not qualify.
The state allows patients to grow for themselves or designate another person to do so. That designated person must be 21 or over.
Growers must also pass a criminal background check, with their record free of felonies on or after January 1, 2006. If the person has a violation, they are prohibited from enrolling for two years from the date of their first offense. Two or more offenses permanently disqualifies a person from becoming a grower.
The standard fee for a cannabis license in Oregon is $200.
Reduced fees are available for specific individuals. They include:
$60 fees with verified Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits, or$50 fees with verified Oregon Health Plan (OHP) eligibility, or$20 fees with a verified receipt of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) monthly benefits, or$20 fees with verified service in the Armed Forces of the United States.
Grower Registration Fee: Grow site registration fee of $200 is assessed if the designated grower is not the patient. Visit the Grower page to follow payment instructions.
Yes. Patients and caregivers are allowed to possess the following amounts:
*24 ounces of usable cannabis;
*16 ounces of a solid medical cannabinoid product
* 72 ounces of a liquid medical cannabinoid product
* 16 ounces of a cannabinoid concentrate or extract, whether sold on its own or in an inhalant-based delivery system
* 5 grams of a cannabinoid extract, whether sold alone or contained in an inhalant-based delivery system
* 4 immature plants
* 50 seeds
No. Under ORS chapter 677, the state defines an Attending Physician as a licensed Doctor of Medicine (MD) or Doctor of Osteopathy (DO).