medical cannabis patient

Get Your Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Card Online for only $99

Get approved today in minutes with the nation’s #1 trusted med card provider.

No appointment needed. Only billed if approved.

How to Get a Medical Card in Massachusetts in Minutes

  • 1. Chat with a Doctor Today

    Fill out a 30-second, confidential questionnaire. Our state-certified medical practitioners are standing by to help answer your questions and evaluate your cannabis needs.

  • 2. Get Approved

    After the practitioner enters you into the system, you'll receive a unique PIN via email and instructions to show you how to register with MA’s online system. Your med card is issued every three years, but your registration must be renewed yearly to remain active.

  • 3. Get Your Med Card

    Once approved in the state’s application portal, you can print out and use a temporary card until your permanent card arrives in the mail.

Get Started Doctors are online 8am-10pm

As seen on

  • 5e3a0fcb25634a510e6bc141_leafly
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a48bc6bc13f_ganja
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a66c46bc147_mic-300x300-1
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a646e6bc135_digital trends
  • 5e3a0fcb25634aa3b26bc145_tech-crunch-300x300-1
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a74aa6bc139_engadget
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a871a6bc133_Business Insider
  • 5e3a0fcb25634a66826bc143_marijuana break

Why get a medical cannabis card in Massachusetts?
Meet your perks.

With a Massachusetts medical card, you can work with a doctor to receive treatment plans that fit your specific healthcare needs.
Tap to Learn More

Many states offer medical marijuana program reciprocity to visiting patients.
Tap to Learn More

MA medical marijuana patients save between 17-20% on excise, sales, and local taxes.
Tap to Learn More

MA dispensaries are required to prioritize stock and variety to ensure patient supplies over adult use consumers.
Tap to Learn More

Trusted and loved by over 1M people.

  • " I really appreciate the fast and easy navigation of the website. I was kept informed thru the whole process. It is reassuring to know I can have a stress-free experience with NuggMD"

    Claire K.

    Claire K.

    4 months ago
  • " Could not have been an easier process! From online doctor interview to receiving temporary ID card by email, it was so straightforward and quick. So happy I found NuggMD!"

    Janet D.

    Janet D.

    4 months ago
  • " The evaluation was easy to fill out and I was contacted by a doctor within minutes. It made what could have been a complicated process straightforward, highly recommend!"

    Linda D.

    Linda D.

    4 months ago
  • " NuggMD walked me through the process and held my hand (figuratively) the whole way. Registering was quick and easy ... and unbelievably fast. I definitely recommend their services."

    Rafael A.

    Rafael A.

    4 months ago

Qualifying conditions in Massachusetts

Per Massachusetts state law, new applicants and renewing patients must have one of the following debilitating medical conditions:

The state defines “debilitating” as “causing weakness, cachexia, wasting syndrome, intractable pain, or nausea, or impairing strength or ability, and progressing to such an extent that one or more of a patient’s major life activities is substantially limited.”

How to be a medical cannabis caregiver in Massachusetts

Some patients choose to have – or are required to have – a designated caregiver. A designated caregiver can:

  • transport patients to their Medical Marijuana Treatment Center (MTC)
  • obtain and transport cannabis from an MTC for the patient
  • cultivate up to 12 immature and 12 mature plants for a patient (or more if the patient has a Hardship Cultivation Registration)
  • prepare and administer the cannabis to the patient

A patient may establish up to two caregivers who are at least 21 years of age. There is no fee to become a caregiver in Massachusetts and caregivers can care for up to five patients.

Learn how to become a medical cannabis caregiver in Massachusetts.