Alaska decriminalized marijuana in 1975, and was only the second state to do so. But they didn't do so through a ballot initiative or a legislative action. Instead, decriminalization came about as a result of the court case called Ravin v. State.
Unfortunately, a 1990 ballot initiative called Measure 2 re-criminalized cannabis just 15 years later. Eight years after that, Alaska approved medical marijuana through Measure 8, but recreational use remained a criminal offense.
There were two failed attempts to re-legalizae cannabis for recreational use in 2000 and 2004. Finally, Alaska won back its legal cannabis rights with another initiative which was also called Measure 2. It passed in 2014 by a very narrow margin of 53.2%.
Yes. To qualify for medical cannabis, your doctor must have examined you no more than 16 months prior to your application and must have one of the following conditions:
Yes. It's been legal since 2014.
Yes. You can cultivate up to six plants, but only three plants can be flowering at any one time.
Yes. The state maintains a registry, but they keep patient records confidential. Law enforcement can only check the database to verify that you're a legal patient.
The Alaska Registry ID Card is good for a year unless otherwise specified by the recommending doctor.
Unfortunately, no. Insurance companies will most likely remain reticent to reimburse cannabis treatment until it is legalized on a federal level.
It only costs $25 to apply for the registry ID card, and $20 to renew it. This charge is separate from your medical expenses for seeing the doctor.
Yes. Your caregiver must be a permanent Alaska resident over 21 years old and they can't have a felony drug offense.
People 21 and over can possess up to one ounce of marijuana, and can grow up to six plants. If two adults live in the same household, 12 plants can be grown, but no more regardless of how many people live there. Only three out of every six plants can be flowering at the same time.
Yes, but a parent or guardian must become the minor's caregiver, and the minor must have a statement from them that the doctor has explained the benefits and risks of using cannabis.