Why book an appointment and wait in a stuffy waiting room? NuggMD is available from 8AM to 10PM every day from the comfort of your own couch.
Once your doctor approves you for medical marijuana treatment, they will deliver your recommendation via email along with detailed instructions for registering with the state.
At NuggMD, nothing matters more than you -- the patient. It's our goal to make your registration process as easy as possible so you can concentrate on feeling better.
When you register with the state, you'll have the option of registering for 1, 2 or 3 years. If you choose less than 3 years for your card, you can extend your certification for 3 years total for $50 per annual extension.
No one wants to spend hours in a doctor's office -- especially when not feeling well. At NuggMD you can log on any time between 8am and 10pm to with no appointment needed.
NuggMD protects all patient medical records as required by both HIPAA and Illinois. And you'll see a doctor from the privacy of home with no need to sit in a public waiting room.
NuggMD accepts all major US credit cards and their payment processors are fast and secure.
As soon as you're approved, your doctor will fill out your recommendation with the necessary details and email your certification for fastest delivery.
NuggMD takes pride in their obsession with consumer satisfaction. Their main goal is to improve patient quality of life by increasing access to cannabis.
Illinois is one of the 15 states that have currently legalized cannabis for both recreational and medical use. They became the 11th state to do so in January 2020. They were the first state ever to legalize recreational cannabis sales via the state legislature instead of a direct vote by the people. Vermont was the first state to legalize recreational cannabis use, but their legislature did not provide for actual sales of cannabis until after Illinois.
Illinois has been leading the way for cannabis as an opiate replacement as well, enacting a pilot program in 2018 designed to steer patients toward using cannabis rather than opiates with the goal of reducing overall opiate deaths in the state. The program was made permanent in 2019 along with many other improvements including the addition of several additional qualifying conditions.
Medical cannabis is taxed at 1% in Illinois, as opposed to recreational taxes which are based on the strength of the product:
* 10% for less than 35% THC
* 20% for infused products such as edibles
* 25% for products with more than 35% THC
When combined with the states 6.25% sales tax and local taxes that can be as high as 3.5%, this means retail taxes can be as high as 19.5% to 34.7%.
Registered cannabis patients are also allowed to grow up to 5 plants for their own personal use, so the state allows a lot of advantages for medical cannabis patients.
Illinois' medical cannabis patient program application takes place entirely online now. The state no longer accepts paper applications. You can find Illinois' online Medical Cannabis Patient Application here.
To get a patient registry identification card, you must first meet the qualifications. Patients must be residents of the state, have a qualifying condition (the full list is below in the faq), get a signed certification from the doctor and be at least 18 years old.
Patients also can't hold a school bus permit or CDL, and can't be an active duty corrections officer, law enforcement or firefighter.
Once your doctor provides your Physician Written Certification Form, you'll need to scan it, convert it to pdf and upload it with your application. If you get your certification from NuggMD, they will deliver it in pdf format so you can skip this step.
Your evaluation must have taken place within the past 90 days, and normally it would be required to be in person, but this requirement has been waived due to COVID until further notice.
Once you've uploaded all of your information and chosen a 1, 2 or 3 year application, you'll need to pay the fee. The fee depends on the length of the certification you choose:
1-year = $100
2-year = $200
3-year = $250
The state will issue you a temporary temporary registration card that you can use until your permanent card arrives in the mail. They issue the card fairly quickly too. Patients who finish their applications before 6PM can print it out by 8:30 AM the following morning. The state recommends that you call the dispensary and check to be sure your card is active before driving there the first time.
For those who have trouble filling out their online application, the state offers free help through the state's county health departments. There is no charge for receiving this assistance.
Some patients choose to have a designated caregiver who can purchase cannabis on their behalf. They're also allowed to transport it and prepare it for patient use. Caregivers should never transport cannabis in the passenger seat of their vehicle. It should be carried in the trunk or in a locked container.
In order to qualify as a person's designated caregiver, you must:
* Be an Illinois state resident,
* Be taking care of only one qualified patient, and
* Be 21 years or older.
Caregivers are required to pay a registration fee unless the person they're caring for has a terminal illness and has been diagnosed with six months or less to live.
Caregivers cannot :
* Use the patient's cannabis,
* Grow, possess or distribute marijuana, or
* Purchase more than the maximum amount allowed for the patient in a two week period.
When you need to recertify will depend on whether you chose the 1, 2, or 3 year option for your certification. Illinois offers two types of renewal options:
1) An extension: Patients who don't choose the 3 year option for their card can extend their certification without getting a new evaluation. The extension fee is $50 for a one-year renewal.
2) A full recertification: This option is for those who have already had their old card for three years with renewals, or who's card has expired. This requires a new medical evaluation.
You'll get a courtesy renewal reminder from the state 45 days before your card expires and a reminder for recertification for full renewals five months prior to your expiration date.
All renewals and recertifications are completed online.
Adult residents in Illinois can purchase up to:
* 30 grams of flower
* No more than 500 mg worth of THC in infused products, or
* Up to 5 grams of concentrates.
Visitors from out-of-state have different purchase limits:
* 15 grams of flower
* Nor more than 250 mg worth of THC in infused products, or
* 2.5 grams of concentrates.
Medical patients are allowed to purchase 2.5 times more cannabis products than recreational patients. They may also cultivate up to 5 plants. Adult users cannot grow their own cannabis at all.
Illinois is the 6th largest state in the US by population. They also have the 5th largest gross domestic product. Its largest city, Chicago, serves as both a major industrial hub and transportation hub for the nation. Chicago connects the Midwest to international ports via the Great Lakes and the Mississippi River; and O'Hare International Airport sees its fair share of cargo and passenger traffic as well.
Springfield, the capital of Illinois, hosts the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Nearby, visitors can find his restored home and the Lincoln Tomb at the Oak Ridge Cemetery.
St. Louis's Archway serves as a major tourist attraction in the south, marking the boundary between Missouri and Illinois in the bi-state city of St. Louis. Visitors to the city can take in local jazz and BBQ, visit Six Flags or take a trip on a river cruise for fine dining and fun.
Super quick and easy. Doc was friendly. All done within about 24 hrs. Totally recommend NuggMD.
My experience was fantastic. friendly and caring staff. very easy to talk to. I would recommend you to anybody and everybody for your services.
The process was fast, easy and relatively cheap. The doctor was very personable and nice. I highly recommend NuggMD !
Wonderful to be able to talk with medical professionals that listen to you and take you seriously! Good experience!
Very pleasant experience. I was treated with professionalism and all my questions were answered. Was approved within an hour. I HIGHLY Recommend!!
An MMJ evaluation with NuggMD is only $99 in Illinois. And there's never any risk because patients who aren't approved for cannabis treatment receive their evaluation for free.
Yes. Here is the list in full:
NuggMD is proud to serve patients in Illinois. All of NuggMD's practitioners are fully-licensed in the states for which they provide medical marijuana recommendations, and have obtained all required certifications and training.
When you fill out your medical marijuana certification application in Illinois, you'll have the choice to choose a 1 year, 2 year or 3 year certification. If you choose to certify for less than three years, you'll have the option of renewing your certification until your 3 years is exhausted. The cost of recertification is $50 per year.
You can receive a refund with NuggMD under the following conditions: if a patient does not receive the documents associated with their medical marijuana recommendation within 30 days after their evaluation, then they will be entitled to a full refund. To do so, patients just need to send an email to our customer service team at firstname.lastname@example.org, with the subject line "refund request." Be sure to include a brief description of your problem, as well. Our customers here at NuggMD are our #1 priority, and we are always striving to make sure that they are all 100% satisfied with our platform. If not, all will get their money back, guaranteed! You should be aware, though, that as soon as your refund is processed, NuggMD is legally obligated to remove any authorizations for medical marijuana you may have. This means that you will not be able to obtain medical marijuana at a dispensary.
You can give small amounts of cannabis away in Illinois as long as you're not giving away more than the allowed possession amounts, the recipient is at least 21 years old and you don't receive any payment at all. Selling cannabis without a license is illegal in Illinois.
Most edible products are divided into 10mg doses, although you can find products with smaller doses as well. It's important to remember that dose tolerance varies widely with cannabis. There are some experienced users who take 50mg or more at a time, but most users find 10mg to be very psychoactive. Inexperienced users often find that 10mg is too potent and that they fare better using 2.5 to 5mg instead. It's a good idea to talk to your doctor about your tolerance level.
The state Department of Public Health has up to 30 business days to review an application. If approved, the DPH has 15 business days to issue the patient their ID.
Illinois allows patients to purchase and use flower, pills, edibles, concentrates, tinctures and oils.
You must be 21 years of age or older to purchase recreational cannabis.
The state does allow adult use purchases, which negates the need for an ID in some cases. That said, approved license holders receive a range of benefits, including reduced sales tax, access to higher potency products, home cultivation, and priority over adult use purchasers.
Yes, a proof of residency is required in the application.
The only really safe place to use cannabis is in the privacy of your own home, assuming your landlord does not prohibit its use in their property. Smoking or consuming in public is illegal. This includes smoking in bars, in any motor vehicle including boats and motorcycles, on any school property, and even on your front porch.
There are risks in over-consuming anything, including water. But there are risks you should discuss with your doctor before beginning any medical marijuana treatment. For instance, marijuana smoke contains many of the same chemicals that cigarette smoke does. Those with lung disease and even healthy people should discuss other possible consumption methods with their doctors. Illinois allows many forms of cannabis including tinctures, edibles, pills, sublingual tablets, sprays, lotions, and even suppositories.
No. Driving while impaired in any way is dangerous and cannabis is no exception. If you're caught driving under the influence you will be subject to DUI charges.
The police are trained to identify intoxicated drivers and have the right to require a field sobriety test. They are trained to identify drivers under the influence of marijuana as well as other drugs.
No. Illinois still doesn't allow the option of home delivery for cannabis.
No. Cannabis is still federally illegal. As such, it would be illegal to cross state lines with it even between two legal states, and would subject you to federal prosecution.
* Illinois state residents with valid proof of age and residency can purchase up to 30 grams of flower, 5 grams of concentrate, or infused products with up to 500mg THC.
* Visitors to the state can purchase as well if they're 21 and older, but they're limited to half as much cannabis as a state resident can buy.
* Medical users can purchase 2.5 times as much cannabis as recreational users.
Only if you're a medical patient. Recreational users are strictly prohibited from cultivating, but medical users can grow up to 5 plants.
Purchasing cannabis online is illegal in Illinois.
Yes. There are no protections for cannabis users in the law and nothing stops employers from adopting zero tolerance policies at their workplace.
Yes. Drug testing for cannabis is allowed in Illinois and employers are allowed to fire workers if they test positive.
The consequences will be more severe if your pet consumes a chocolate edible. Chocolate is very toxic to dogs and cats and can be deadly. Pets (and children!) are also more susceptible to rare fatal doses because their bodies are smaller. This is why it's extremely important to keep your medicine out of reach of little ones.
No. It's not safe to use cannabis while pregnant OR breastfeeding. Cannabis is expressed in your breastmilk and can affect a developing fetus. Do not use cannabis if you're pregnant or breastfeeding.
You can overdose on anything, including water. It's very difficult to overdose on cannabis since the LD50 is so high. The LD50 is the dose at which 50% of users would die. It has been calculated that the LD50 for THC in a 150lb human would be about 4 grams. Most people would choose not to approach a fraction of this amount because the effects of too high a dose of cannabis are extremely unpleasant, including agitation, paranoia, hallucinations, nausea, vomiting, vertigo, loss of motor control, loss of judgment and perception. .
Illinois Department of Health
535 W Jefferson St, Springfield, IL 62761